Day 95: Fun in Atlanta – A really nice hotel and lots of good shopping

I love this little inspirational thought on my hotel mirror!

I love this little inspirational thought on my hotel mirror!

Vacationing in Atlanta with my kids and granddaughter is really fun.  REALLY FUN!  I can walk down the hall any time I want and get the baby. It doesn’t hurt that we are staying in a really nice hotel called the Le  Meridian Perimeter.  As I mentioned yesterday,  this is on the north side of Atlanta and about 20 minutes from downtown by MARTA.  But I actually think that’s a good thing because we’re not right in the middle of all the craziness, although there’s quite a few basketball fans here, too.

I loved this hotel!

I loved this hotel!

Another nice spot in the hotel - I couldn't resist taking a picture.

Another nice spot in the hotel – I couldn’t resist taking a picture.

The hotel is really artistic and kind of modern.  We have a large suite with a table large enough to host Thanksgiving!  I tried to get some good pictures, but this whole experience has convinced me that I need to get a better camera, especially if I’m going to do “travel blogging”!  There are some real disadvantages to using my phone.  I have been using Big Daddio’s new I-Phone but even that’s not so great.

I think this was called the library, but we never went in.

I think this was called the library, but we never went in.

One of the things we really liked about our stay was the “Lounge” right down the hall from us.  It was a large room with lots of couches, TVs, computers and best of all – Food!  They had a nice little buffet breakfast in the morning and a little cocktail hour from 5-9 in the evening.  You could stop in any time and get beverages and small snacks, like yogurt and power bars.  We spent quite a bit of time in that lounge and got to know the attendant pretty well – we were there for 4 nights!  She even gave Big Daddio a hug when we left.  I guess he made a pretty big impression!

We had a great time shoe and baby shopping in this Neiman Marcus.

We had a great time shoe and baby shopping in this Neiman Marcus.

Our first stop of the trip was to a nearby mall to go to Neiman Marcus.  We figured it was just about time for the baby to go on her first official shopping trip.  Of course she spent most of the time sleeping in her stroller while her mom and I oohed and ahhed over all the cute baby clothes.  We also spent a lot of time in the shoe department, while Big Daddio pushed the stroller around.  He claimed that it was a “chick magnet”.

I loved all the beautiful flowers  - so nice to see this time of year!

I loved all the beautiful flowers – so nice to see this time of year!

I’ve included a link for the hotel, just in case you’re interested in a nice place to stay.  I can highly recommend this one!  Here is the link: http://www.starwoodhotels.com/lemeridien/property/overview/index.html?propertyID=3846.