Day 113: Caprese Salad – It’s a great summer day

Just wanted to include this picture of the adorable "Thyme Tree" that was sent as a gift for my dad.  What a cute idea!

Just wanted to include this picture of the adorable “Thyme Tree” that was sent as a gift for my dad. What a cute idea!

Today was a beautiful summer day.  I really kind of missed spring and Memorial Day with everything that was going on with my dad, so it’s a bit of a surprise to me that it’s full-out summer already!  Of course my completely white,pasty legs haven’t done anything to tip me off.  Definitely time to get some sun!

Maybe that’s why this recipe for Caprese Salad caught my eye.  It was at a site called Sweet Remedy – An Antidote for your Appetite.  It’s full of recipes with fresh fruits and vegetables.  Here’s the link:  http://www.sweet-remedy.com/2012/06/caprese-salad-with-cucumbers/.

The Island of Capri - I didn't take this picture, but I sure wish I had.

The Island of Capri – I didn’t take this picture, but I sure wish I had.

Seeing this recipe got me thinking about what Caprese meant, so I looked it up.  Turns out it means “salad in the style of Capri”.  That got me wondering what Capri looks like,  because it definitely sounds wonderful.  So I googled some images and it really looks fabulous.  It’s an island off the southern coast of Italy and I think I really need to go there, but for now I’ll just have to settle for eating some Caprese Salad.

My Caprese Salad ready to be mixed up.

My Caprese Salad ready to be mixed up.

The recipe is simple and fresh, much like the Caprese appetizers I’ve made before with tomatoes, basil and mozzarella balls.  This also includes cucumber – I peeled mine, but when I looked at the picture on the original blog it looks like she didn’t.  I think that’s a better idea because it would give it a little more color.

I was in the process of mixing up this salad late in the evening.  My plan was to take it for lunch tomorrow, so I wouldn’t have to pay $6.00 for a meager salad in the cafeteria at work.  Imagine my surprise when Big Daddio wandered in and started showing a lot of interest in what I was making.  Normally he doesn’t like tomatoes or basil for that matter.  I didn’t even know he likes cucumbers, so I was shocked that he wanted to try some.  And even more surprised that he seemed to like it!

Caprese Salad - This will have to do until I can actually go to Capri

Caprese Salad – This will have to do until I can actually go to Capri

It certainly is easy to make and I think it would be really fun to make for a little party and put it in the nifty appetizer mini bowls I put it in tonight.  The only problem I had with it is that the balsamic vinegar turns the mozzarella balls kind of brown and they look a lot like mushrooms.  I really don’t like mushrooms, so that is kind of off-putting to me.  But it tastes good and it sure reminds me of summer, so I will add it to the “keep” list and hopefully make it for the little cocktail party I’d like to have once I get caught up a little around here.

Leave a Reply

