Day 112 – Back to life, back to reality – and a Strawberry Mango Smoothie

One of the beautiful arrangements from my dad's funeral.

One of the beautiful arrangements from my dad’s funeral.

Well, I don’t know if anyone has noticed but I haven’t been blogging for the past few weeks.  Unfortunately, my father passed away last week after an extended illness.  I spent over a month going back and forth to my parent’s house and helping with my dad’s care. It was a heart-wrenching process, one that I hope to not repeat anytime soon.  We had the funeral last Friday and then spent the weekend with the whole extended family.  It was one of those “silver lining in every cloud” situations – we really ended up having a lot of good times even during such a difficult situation.  We are so grateful for all the support from our friends and family.

Anyway, I decided to go on hiatus while all of this was going on.  It was just too stressful to try to keep it up and that was never the purpose of my blog.  So, I decided to take a break and come back to Project Pinterest 365 when the time was right.  Now that I’m home again, I’ve decided to get back to work.  I’ve missed the writing and my household projects have completely stalled, so I’m excited to get started again.

Tonight’s project is pretty simple, but surprisingly hard to find.  For some reason I really wanted a good smoothie when I got home today.  I’ve been eating a lot of cake and other sweets that were sent to my mom’s house during the funeral.   Very good –  but not so good for my waistline.  Some fruit sounded like a very good idea!

Smoothie ingredients - perfect summer food

Smoothie ingredients – perfect summer food

I really spent a lot of time looking at smoothie recipes before I decided on one.  A lot of them have weird ingredients that are hard to find.  Some of them are called “Vegan” and “Gluten-free” which sound suspicious to me.  Also, I’ve decided that I don’t really like  bananas in smoothies.  They are probably healthy, but they give them a texture that’s too much like baby food for me.  Anyway, I finally found a recipe that sounded reasonable called “Strawberry Nectarine Smoothie”  at a site called Ms. Chow.  Here is the link:  http://www.mschow.com/recipes/protein/strawberry-nectarine-smoothie/.  Most of Ms. Chow’s recipes look pretty healthy, so I’ll have to take another look someday when I’m looking for something healthy – which isn’t every day!

You may remember an earlier recipe that I tried to make using nectarines.  I had forgotten that it’s hard to find them this time of year, so once again I had to improvise.  I decided to use a mango instead of the nectarine and I got some orange/mango juice.  When I got home, I threw everything shown above into my food processor.  I think a blender is probably the preferred appliance, but I was too lazy to get it out of the cupboard.

My smoothie - it turned out just the way I wanted!

My smoothie – it turned out just the way I wanted!

It turned out good – nice and icy, without any banana babyfood taste.  Just what I had in mind and Big Daddio was pretty happy to see a surprise snack show up while he was watching something on TV.

I’m glad to be back writing my blog.  It will be nice to get back to some normal day-to-day things.

Leave a Reply

