Day 108: Back to Chicago – Fun with friends

The hotel where we stayed - I didn't actually take this picture.  My friends got tired of waiting around for me to take pictures!

The hotel where we stayed – I didn’t actually take this picture. My friends got tired of waiting around for me to take pictures!

After a quick week at home, I’m back on the road again!  I’m taking the train to Chicago to spend the weekend with a group of girlfriends. I haven’t seen some of them for a number of years.  I can’t wait for our reunion!

Since I’m taking the train, I don’t have to drive in the Friday night traffic or pay for expensive parking at the hotel all weekend.  We are lucky to have a good commuter train that I can take after work and then just walk a few blocks to the hotel.  Unfortunately I’ll be carrying my 30 pound bag, but it’s really not worth getting a cab for such a short distance.  The other option would be cutting way back on the amount of clothes I’m taking, but you know that’s not going to happen!

The outside of the hotel - it's really an historic building

The outside of the hotel – it’s really an historic building

We are staying at the beautiful Intercontinental hotel on North Michigan Avenue.  It’s a great location because of the proximity to the train station.  It’s across the street from the Nordstrom Plaza, where we plan to spend a lot of time.  It’s just across the river so it’s easy to go south to the theatre district if we want to.  Here’s the link if you’d like to get more information about the hotel:  http://www.ihg.com/intercontinental/hotels/gb/en/chicago/ordha/hoteldetail.

To be honest we didn’t really spend much time in the hotel, but our rooms were very comfortable and the lobby was beautiful.  Apparently there’s a nice pool, but we were too busy eating and shopping to ever make it there.

Night view of Bandera

Night view of Bandera

For our first meal of the weekend (believe me, there were many others) we chose a restaurant called Bandara.  Here’s a link with some information, although I didn’t see an actual website for the restaurant.  http://www.yelp.com/biz/bandera-restaurant-chicago.  They make a great rotisserie chicken that you can either get in a fabulous salad (Macho Salad) or as an entree.  We also had a wonderful grilled artichoke and really good cornbread.  The enchiladas looked great – in fact everything was good.  The restaurant is on the second floor of a building overlooking Michigan Avenue.  We were lucky enough to get a corner table by the window.  They probably figured they should put the table of five yacking women in the back!

A picture of the chickens "rotissering"

A picture of the chickens “rotissering”

Anyway, after a great dinner we made our way back to the hotel.  Amazingly, we stopped talking long enough to get some sleep and rest up for the next big day of shopping and eating!

One thought on “Day 108: Back to Chicago – Fun with friends

Leave a Reply

