Day 105: Peanut Butter Cup Brownies

Very pretty, don't you think? I used a serving dish my daughter gave me - one of my favorites.

Very pretty, don’t you think? I used a serving dish my daughter gave me – one of my favorites.

Well, I’ve really gotten behind this time.  I’ve just haven’t been able to sit down and write my blog due to traveling, working (new job) and trying to finish my taxes.  My apologies to anyone who has been desperately waiting for a new post (haha) but I’ll try once again to get caught up.

Today’s project is related to my brother’s birthday.  It’s hard to believe that my “baby brother” is turning 50 this weekend!  Hmmm, I hate to think about what that says about me.  Anyway, I wanted to send him a little something and by now you realize that pretty much everything I do involves a Pinterest project.  I found a very good sounding recipe called Peanut Butter Cup Brownies from “The First Year Blog”.  I’ve visited this blog before and there are some great ideas.  Here is the link:  http://thefirstyearblog.com/2013/04/09/peanut-butter-cup-brownies/.

I love brownies and I love peanut butter.  In fact, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are my favorite candy.  So this recipe was a no-brainer.  Even better, I had all the ingredients at home so no trip to the store.  Yeah – sign me up!

Peanut Butter Cup Brownies - Only a few ingredients

Peanut Butter Cup Brownies – Only a few ingredients

This was pretty easy.  I mixed up a box of brownies that I had in the cupboard.  Big Daddio bought them – you can tell because he always buys the kind with nuts and I never do.  He regularly complains when I make brownies with no nuts.  Anyway, I didn’t think it would make any difference so I mixed them up and put them in my nifty mini-muffin pan.  It made 1 1/2 pans of brownies.  As you can see from the picture, I didn’t use paper muffin cups.  I just sprayed the little compartments really well with Pam.

This whole project made me think about a couple of products that I regularly use.  I don’t know if people still go to Pampered Chef parties, but when my kids were little we all had parties.  We were just happy to get out of the house and have a glass a wine while our husbands watched the kids.  I bought a couple of things that I use quite a bit.  One is my mini-muffin pan that you can see in the picture above and the other is the “peanut butter measurer” shown below.

The "Peanut Butter Measurer" .  You need one of these.

The “Peanut Butter Measurer” . You need one of these.

No – it’s not really called a peanut butter measurer.  It’s actually called a Metric WonderCup, but I almost always use it to measure either peanut butter or shortening.  It is very handy for this procedure.  You just push the bottom up and the sticky stuff pops right out.  I have two sizes and I really love them.  If you don’t have one, check around.  Maybe one of your friends is having a Pampered Chef party.

Once the brownies are done, you just need to melt the peanut butter in the microwave for a few seconds and then fill the little divets in the top with a little.  I had to actually push the top of a spoon in the top to make the indentation.  I topped them with some chocolate chips.  I didn’t have any peanut butter chips, so I wouldn’t rush out and buy them but they probably would be good.

Yum  - these are good!

Yum – these are good!

These were good right out of the oven, but they were better the next morning after being in the refrigerator.  I think they are really cute, easy and taste great.  I will definitely be making these again!  Hope my brother likes peanut butter. I also hope I can get them in the mail before Big Daddio eats them all!

One thought on “Day 105: Peanut Butter Cup Brownies

Leave a Reply

