Day 104 : Tilapia-en-Papillote – there’s something fishy about this recipe!

My beautiful fish dinner - too bad Big Daddio doesn't eat fish

My beautiful fish dinner – too bad Big Daddio doesn’t eat fish

Back home, back to work and back to having to cook for myself instead of going to fabulous restaurants for every meal.  I don’t think I even had  lunch today, but I guess I could afford to miss a meal after the eat-a-thon we had this weekend.

I decided to stop at the store and pick up the ingredients for a recipe I pinned last week for Tilapia-en-Papillote – fish in parchment paper. Usually I’m kind of afraid to cook fish, but I’ve had something like this in a restaurant and it was good.  How could I go wrong?  This is from a blog called Southern Boy Dishes.  There are lots of good recipes there and I will definitely go back and check out some of the other dishes.  Here’s the link:  http://www.southernboydishes.com/2013/01/17/tilapia-en-papillote/.

The only really time consuming part of this recipe is cutting the julienne vegetables.  I was hoping that I had a julienne blade for my food processor, but after looking thru the box it appears that I don’t have one.  I think I might order one, because it’s somewhat time-consuming and mine didn’t look quite as good as the picture in the recipe.

The julienned vegetables.  I think they look pretty good.

The julienned vegetables. I think they look pretty good.

Since I wasn’t quite sure how to do this process, I checked out a video online for directions.  Here’s the link, in case you find yourself in a similar situation:  http://www.videojug.com/film/chef-skills-how-to-julienne.  I think I did a pretty good job with the cutting.  No missing fingers!

Unfortunately I couldn’t find the double-sided parchment paper mentioned in the blog that has parchment paper on one side and foil on the other.  I’m going to keep looking because it sounds like it would be pretty handy.  I just had to use plain parchment paper which is easy enough to find.

I assembled everything as directed and wrapped it up to look as much like the picture as possible.  I cooked the four packets for 20 minutes and then another 5 minutes just in case.  I’m always afraid I’ll undercook fish and get some kind of food poisoning.  Big Daddio says that won’t happen, but I’d rather not take a chance.

This boiling-over trick really works!

This boiling-over trick really works!

I also made some rice using the wooden-spoon-over-the-pan method that Brooke taught me a couple of weeks ago.  I put everything on a plate very artfully.  I thought it turned out very beautiful – almost like a restaurant presentation.  I have to say that it tasted quite good. I did have to use a different seasoning since I think I threw away my Old Bay seasoning in my last purge of out-of-date spices – but I didn’t think it hurt anything.  In fact, it was a little spicy and I like that.

What it looks like when it's all assembled.

What it looks like when it’s all assembled.

So that’s my adventure in cooking fish.  It was a nice and quick dinner.  I think I’ll try this again, but next time might try the author’s suggestion for using tomatoes and feta cheese.  Yum!

2 thoughts on “Day 104 : Tilapia-en-Papillote – there’s something fishy about this recipe!

  1. Hey there! Glad the tilapia worked out for you. Thanks so much for featuring it on your blog. I really appreciate the promotion! I’m a fairly new blogger as well and am having a blast. It’s a lot of work but well worth it! Thanks again and happy blogging!

    Bill

Leave a Reply

