Day 103: Last day in Chicago – so many restaurants left to try

I've been waiting to try this restaurant all weekend - Florentine

I’ve been waiting to try this restaurant all weekend – Florentine

Well, I knew this day would come.  The last day of my fabulous Chicago trip and there are LOTS of restaurants that we still haven’t tried.  So today’s big goal is going to be to eat at least two really good restaurants.  In order to accomplish this we need to get started early and walk enough that we will be able to eat all that food.  This means that Big Daddio is going to have to SHOP!

One thing Big Daddio really doesn’t like to do is shop.  He’s always talking about how men “buy” and women “shop”.  He usually needs something – shoes or pants – but when we get to a store he never fails to say “I don’t feel like shopping right now”.  But he did mention that he really needs  some shoes, so I figured he would be good for at least a little while.

The "Wine Cellar" at the Florentine.   It was a little too early in the morning to give this a try.

The “Wine Cellar” at the Florentine. It was a little too early in the morning to give this a try.

We started out the morning at the really good restaurant in our hotel, called Florentine.  I have walked past this place several times over the last couple days and was intrigued by the huge display of wine.  We got breakfast, so there wasn’t any wine drinking, but at least we got to see what it was like.  And we liked what we saw!  Here’s a link with the menu if you want to check it out before you go:  http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/chijw-jw-marriott-chicago/.  I had some wonderful French Toast  and Big Daddio had an omelet.  The only thing I didn’t love was that I had to pay an extra $6.00 for three pieces of bacon.  I’m just too cheap for that kind of thing!

A beautiful arrangement I saw at the restaurant.  I wonder if I could make this at home?

A beautiful arrangement I saw at the restaurant. I wonder if I could make this at home?

After our really good breakfast, we strolled down the street toward the stores.  It was still a little early, so I got a few pictures of some local landmarks.  Did you know that you can visit the Chicago Federal Reserve building?  It’s only open Monday-Friday, but it looked like it would be really interesting.  Here’s the link in case you want to go: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g35805-d561562-Reviews-Chicago_Fed_Visitors_Center-Chicago_Illinois.html.   I also got a really good (I think) picture of Sears Tower in the sunlight.  I only want to see it from the ground – I’m not crazy about those long elevator rides.

Did you know you can tour the Federal Reserve?

Did you know you can tour the Federal Reserve?

We did go to DSW and Big Daddio found not one, but two pairs of shoes.  As I predicted, it only took a few minutes and he was ready to go.  But he was a pretty good sport and walked with me to Macys and a number of other stores.  I really didn’t buy much, but that’s because I’m coming back next weekend and I want to save some of my money.

We spotted this restaurant and had to stop.

We spotted this restaurant and had to stop.

We decided that we had worked up enough of an appetite to walk back to a cute British-style pub that we spotted over by the hotel.  It was called Elephant & Castle and looked like a perfect place to get a beer and a little lunch.  Here’s a link to their site:  http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=elephant+and+castle+chicago&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8   I got a beer that I really liked.  It was the special of the day and was called “Chainbreaker White” by Deschutes Brewery .  I loved the light citrusy flavor.  Here’s the link to the brewery if you’re interested in beer:  http://www.deschutesbrewery.com/brew/chainbreaker-white-ipa.   I even took a picture of the sign so I can remember the name when I want to order it again in the future.

My new favorite beer.  I took a picture so I could remember the name.

My new favorite beer. I took a picture so I could remember the name.

That was the end of our Chicago adventure.  Time to go home and finish our taxes and get back to real life.  At least I know I’ll be back again soon  – like in 5 days!

Leave a Reply

