Day 102: More Chicago fun – why do I eat so much when I’m here?

I love my new address!

I love my new address!

What a treat to wake up in a beautiful place, knowing that I don’t have to do anything at all if I don’t want to!  And believe me, I didn’t do a lot today.  It was snowing when I woke up, which sort of discouraged me from my original plan of walking  to Michigan Avenue and do some shopping.  All of a sudden, some time in the spa started sounding really good.

The entrance to the spa - or should I say "Heaven"?

The entrance to the spa – or should I say “Heaven”?

They have a really beautiful spa in our hotel.  They have things like “The Preparation Room” and “The Transformation Room”.  These are just basically quiet, comfortable rooms where you can sit and relax before and after your “experiences”.  The guide told me that you can bring your family members in there with you.  All I could think was “why would I want to bring Big Daddio in there with me?”  I really don’t think it’s his kind of thing.  Here’s a link to the website for the spa:  http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/fitness-spa-services/chijw-jw-marriott-chicago/.

A very relaxing looking arrangement in the spa

A very relaxing looking arrangement in the spa

Anyway, I spent several hours having my “experiences” and then just sitting in those rooms, reading magazines and basically thinking about nothing.  It was very relaxing.  So relaxing that I needed a little nap after I finished!  Talk about a “wind down” day!  At one point I had someone working on my toes and another woman working on my eyebrows.  I felt like a Kardashian!

Interesting things to see everywhere we look.

Interesting things to see everywhere we look.

After so much exertion, I convinced Big Daddio that we should take a walk around the neighborhood before dinner.  It was a cold day, but there were lots of great sights to see as we made our way toward the river near the Trump Tower.  We went past the Sears Tower – I think it’s called something else now, but it was always the Sears Tower when I lived in Chicago.  We saw a few hearty souls out on boat tours of the river.  That looked a little too chilly for me!

A really good restaurant if you like steak or seafood - that should cover pretty much everyone, right?

A really good restaurant if you like steak or seafood – that should cover pretty much everyone, right?

Once we had worked up an appetite it was time to go to dinner.  We went with a group to a great steakhouse called Smith and Wollensky. Here’s a link to the restaurant:  http://www.smithandwollensky.com/locations-2/chicago/.  It was one of those places that has really expensive but really good aged steaks.  The food was all fabulous, but I had to kind of forget how much everything cost because otherwise I would have been obsessing about how we could eat for a week for that amount!

The views at night at great

The views at night at great

On the walk back to the hotel we walked past several theaters and even got to watch a little of the evening news being taped at the local TV station.  It was a great evening and I can’t wait to wake up tomorrow with another day to spend in the city!

Leave a Reply

