Day 99: Nectarine and Goat Cheese Crostini

This is a picture of what my attempt DID NOT look like.

This is a picture of what my attempt DID NOT look like.

Whew – I’m finally home and back to work.  Real work and Pinterest project work.  But don’t get too used to it because I’m only going to be home for two days and then I’m off to Chicago for another three days.  I’m already looking forward to all the great pictures and travel ideas I can get for my blog on that trip.

By necessity I needed to keep tonight’s project pretty quick and simple.  I still need to unpack, do laundry and re-pack for the next trip.  Also, we still have to finish our taxes!  I don’t know why we put this off so much every year, but it’s an annual tradition to rush around for a couple of days  – all the while asking ourselves why we didn’t get started earlier.  I have literally been sitting in a line at the Post Office at 11:55 pm many, many times.  Of course that was back in the day before you could do everything online, which is even more convenient for procrastinators like us!

Anyway, I saw a post in one of the blogs I follow (A Food Centric Life)  for Nectarine and Goat Cheese Crostini Appetizers.   Here is the link: http://afoodcentriclife.com/nectarine-and-goat-cheese-crostini/ .   I don’t know why, but this really appealed to me.  Maybe because it sounded kind of springy and fresh.  And I’m really ready for that, especially after being in Atlanta for a few days.  Unfortunately, it’s supposed to snow tonight so all my spring ideas may have to wait a couple of days.

I discovered that it’s hard to find nectarines at the grocery store this time of year.  As in impossible.  So I decided to improvise and buy a couple of peaches.  They’re pretty much the same thing, right?

At least I got the bread cutting right.

At least I got the bread cutting right.

I got right to work when I got home.  First I had to slice the bread diagonally (not too hard) and then mix up a butter, olive oil and granulated garlic mixture.  I didn’t know what granulated garlic was, so I just chopped up a couple of garlic cloves as fine as I could without cutting off my fingers.  I spread that on the bread and stuck it in the oven to crisp. Believe me, things started smelling good right away,

Ingredients I started out with, before things went haywire.  I totally forgot to use the pistachios!

Ingredients I started out with, before things went haywire. I totally forgot to use the pistachios!

Next I was supposed to prepare the peaches/nectarines for roasting.  Unfortunately, when I cut them in half they looked all gray and rotten.  Arghh – that made me mad because I paid quite a lot for them and I really needed them for the recipe – they have a title role!  Well, I couldn’t quit at that point or I’d basically have garlic bread – not too exciting.  So I started thinking about what else I could use and came up with the idea of  using some raspberry jam I had in the frig.

I spread the goat cheese and a little jam on the tops of the bread and proceeded to make the Balsamic Reduction suggested in the recipe.  This is simple – just boil down the vinegar with a little brown sugar until it’s kind of syrupy and then drizzle over the crostini.

My attempt did not look as good as the original - but I'm going to try this again!

My attempt did not look as good as the original – but I’m going to try this again!

Here’s what I can tell you – this tasted really good to me.  Kind of sweet, but the garlic and vinegar give it an interesting flavor.  I ate quite a lot of this because Big Daddio said it looked weird and he doesn’t like goat cheese.  Honestly!

Here’s what I can’t tell you – what the actual recipe would taste like.  But I’m no quitter and I’m going to try again.  I’ll give you a full report when I do!

Postscript:

After reading this to Big Daddio, he took exception to my comment that he doesn’t like goat cheese.  Turns out that  it’s the vinegar he objected to!  Just wanted to clear that up!

2 thoughts on “Day 99: Nectarine and Goat Cheese Crostini

  1. Thanks for following my blog, and yes, nectarines are totally a summer fruit! When they arrive in a few months, try this again. The flavor combo is terrific!

Leave a Reply

