Day 98: Lunch at the Ritz Carlton – now that’s what I’m talking about

A great place for a nice lunch.

A great place for a nice lunch.

The day of the big game – University of Michigan vs. Louisville!  We were right down in the heart of things during the day.  They had a pep rally for Louisville on the block where we had lunch and we saw the team buses going down the street.  It was an exciting atmosphere and everyone seemed to be having a good time.

Of course, once we got downtown we needed to get something to eat.  We checked out a few places and finally settled on the “Atlanta Grill” at the Ritz Carlton.  It was a beautiful hotel and restaurant and we thought it would be a good place to get away from the crowds on the street.  Here’s a link with the menu included:  http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/Atlanta/Dining/AtlantaGrill/Menu.htm.

There were so many beautiful things to take pictures of here

There were so many beautiful things to take pictures of here

We had a nice table in the back.  I’m not sure if they put us back there because we had a baby, but it was a good spot for us.  The baby was perfect – never cried once!

We had good food – kind of an up-scale southern menu.  Big Daddio ordered chicken wings – probably the least “regional” thing on the menu.  At least the waitress talked him into getting the toasted grits.  She told him he needed to try them instead of getting boring fries.  I’m not sure he really loved them because there were quite a few left at the end of the meal.

rc9

I made a common mistake  – ordering without my glasses!  I thought I was getting a  pork barb-e-que sandwich.  I mentioned to Big Daddio later that it seemed kind of crunchy and he said ” why did you order a Crispy Pork Belly sandwich?”   Well, haha I don’t even know what a pork belly is, but I’m not sure I would have ordered it if I had.  That’s what I get for trying to squint my way thru the menu without putting my glasses on.

This reminds me of the time I went to lunch with my friend Gloria.  I tried reading the menu for awhile but finally had to ask her to read it for me.  I knew I was in trouble when I thought I saw “squirrel” as one of the menu items!

I loved seeing all the beautiful flowers.

I loved seeing all the beautiful flowers.

After lunch we were back out on the street, enjoying the sunshine, flowers and the beautiful sights.  I’ve included a few of my favorites – these were the best I could do armed with only the little camera on my phone.  I kept having to run and catch up with the group because I was getting distracted by all the interesting things to see. I’ve decided that really looking for good pictures makes me a lot more aware of my surroundings.  Just not sure my family appreciated myy new-found love of photography!

Another old building I would have checked out if I had a little more time.

Another old building I would have checked out if I had a little more time.

So, that’s all on our trip.  There’s still lots of things we didn’t see, so I’d like to go back again soon. Hopefully the inspirational quote on my mirror was right – The best trips, like the best love affairs, never really end!

Leave a Reply

