Day 93: Roasted Veges, bread, olive oil and wine – a little vegetarian for Big Daddio!

Roasting veges with Parmesan cheese - yum!

Roasting veges with Parmesan cheese – yum!

Tonight, we had a little pre-vacation celebration after work.  We opened a bottle of Big Daddio’s good red wine and settled down to watch our favorite night of TV  – American Idol, Project Runway and Glee.  Of course, the wine did cut down on our productivity later in the evening – which explains why I’m posting this a day late!  But it was fun and after the first glass I decided we’d better figure out what to eat.

A nice glass of wine is always a good ending to the end (almost) of the week.

A nice glass of wine is always a good ending to the end (almost) of the week.

Before I “reveal” the recipe of the night, I wanted to explain that Big Daddio along with  his partner and good friend Tom make quite a large supply of home-crafted wine each year.  Tom actually grows the grapes and they work together on the process.  They have all the necessary equipment, so don’t feel sorry for me having to drink home-made wine.  It’s very good and they make a number of different varieties.  I’ve shown a picture of the bottle below.  You can see how professional it looks.

Very professional home-crafted wine.  I'm lucky to have a supply of this in the basement!

Very professional home-crafted wine. I’m lucky to have a supply of this in the basement!

One of the coolest things John and Tom have done with their wine is to make a couple of special varieties for our daughter’s wedding last year.  They made one white and one red.  They were served at the reception to almost 300 people.  It was a very special addition to the wedding!

Anyway, enough about wine.  We needed something to eat, so I looked up a pin I remembered saving for roasted vegetables.  I’ve attached the link, but it’s just  pin so don’t bother clicking on it.  It takes you to some computer website place and I don’t want anyone to get hacked.  Here’s the link: http://pinterest.com/pin/22518066859225862/.

I made the recipe pretty much as listed.  I decided I should try it once before I started playing around with it!

The vegetables look so pretty when they're all cut up.

The vegetables look so pretty when they’re all cut up.

It looked very pretty and tasted good.  I baked some “Take and Bake” ciabatta rolls I picked up at the store.  Then I mixed up some olive oil, herbs and parmesan cheese.  This really got Big Daddio’s attention.  I put everything together and made a little “vegetarian” feast.  He was skeptical at first, but ended up liking it.  Of course, he added a bologna sandwich just to finish things off!  Honestly!

The perfect dinner as far as I'm concerned.

The perfect dinner as far as I’m concerned.

I would make this again – it’s simple and quick.  However, I’d do it a little differently.  I would use cherry tomatoes instead of cut up tomatoes – they got a little smooshy for my taste.  I would chop up the garlic and spread it all over instead of leaving the cloves whole.   Finally, I would substitute asparagus for the sweet potatoes.  I thought they were a little soft and I just didn’t care for the texture.  But of course, you could put in whatever vegetables you like.

So that’s my last cooking project before we head off to Atlanta.  Not quite sure what I’ll do while I’m gone, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something.  Have a good weekend.

4 thoughts on “Day 93: Roasted Veges, bread, olive oil and wine – a little vegetarian for Big Daddio!

Leave a Reply

