Day 88: Hasselback Potatoes – No relation to David (wait, that’s Hasselhoff!)

The finished product  - they're worth the work!

The finished product – they’re worth the work!

Today I’m finishing up some Easter projects to take with me to my parent’s house.  As I mentioned yesterday, I’m really excited to see everyone and have been having fun getting some treats together for the big feast.  Since I’m in charge of potatoes, I’ve been searching Pinterest for a new recipe that will really wow the family.

I found a site called  “Views from the Ville “that had an interesting recipe.  Apparently,  in addition to lobster Maine is also known for  potatoes.  I never knew that, but this recipe sounded good and meets one of my criteria – no sour cream.  Big Daddio really doesn’t like those cheesy potato recipes with sour cream.  Which is too bad because they’re really good to make ahead for a crowd.  I think he will be happy to have a change of pace this time.  Here’s the link:  http://viewsfromtheville.com/2012/04/10/scalloped-hasselback-potatoes-recipe/

Get big potatoes and cut them carefully

Get big potatoes and cut them carefully

The trick to this recipe is getting nice big russet potatoes.  I used a whole 5 pound bag since I’m expecting at least 13 people for dinner.  The recipe only calls for 2 potatoes and I’m not sure how many that is supposed to serve, but our family has a lot of big eaters so I made quite a few.

The only hard part of making these is cutting the thin slices all along each potato while avoiding cutting all the way thru.  I’m not going to lie – I did mess up a few, but it doesn’t really matter.  I just smooshed them all into a pan and just made it look like they weren’t cut apart.  Really – don’t stress about that.  It just takes a little practice.

Once they're all lined up in the pan it doesn't really matter if some are cut all the way thru

Once they’re all lined up in the pan it doesn’t really matter if some are cut all the way thru

After you cut them, you put butter and Parmesan cheese in the little slots between the cuts.  This is somewhat time consuming, but I figured that it took no more time  than peeling and mashing potatoes for a large group.  They look pretty cool when they’re done and are kind of fancy.  For this event, I cooked them for an hour and then took them with me.  When I got to my parent’s house, I reheated them for about 20 minutes and then added the cream and shredded cheese.  Then I baked them for another 20 minutes.

We agreed that this recipe is a keeper.  It looks and tastes great and is perfect for a nice dinner.  The only thing I would have done differently is to cook them a little longer.  I think that because they were so big some of them didn’t get as soft as I would have liked.  But that’s easily remedied and I will definitely be making these again.

2 thoughts on “Day 88: Hasselback Potatoes – No relation to David (wait, that’s Hasselhoff!)

Leave a Reply

