Day 87: Easter Preparations – Bird’s Nests and Dipped Carrots

Strawberry carrots - a fun Easter treat.

Strawberry carrots – a fun Easter treat.

I’ve been busy today making some things to take to my parent’s house for Easter Weekend.  Most of my family will be there and I’m really looking forward to seeing everyone.  I’m in charge of desserts and potatoes for about 15 people.  Today I’m working on the dessert and treats and tomorrow I’ll finish the potatoes.

Both of my recipes came from a site called Parenting.com.  I’m know I used to read Parenting magazine when the kids were little and there were always lots of great ideas.  Looks like they still have lots of good ideas and I found two that were quick, easy and cheap.  I was able to put these together quickly this morning.  Here’s the link: http://www.parenting.com/blogs/kid-friendly-recipes/holly-kapherr/easter-craft-ideas

The first idea was the Dipped Strawberries that look like carrots.  I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t be able to find the orange candy coating, but sure enough they had it at Michael’s and it was even on sale.  They have lots of colors and I’ll have to remember that for other occasions.

I think they look kind of like carrots, right?

I think they look kind of like carrots, right?

The candy coating melted easily and I was able to cover a quart with one bag.  After I dipped them I went back and drizzled some over the tops to make them look more like carrots.  My daughter said they didn’t look like carrots, just strawberries dipped in orange chocolate.  But she’s my harshest  critic and I think they look pretty cute.

The second project (in the same link) was for “Bird’s Nest” cookies.  I love no-bake things like this and they only had two ingredients. Perfect!

Only two ingredients - three if you count the candy

Only two ingredients – three if you count the candy

These are really simple – just melt the butterscotch, dump in the noodles and mix them up.  Pretty much like making Rice Krispy treats. Then you just form them into nest shapes and let them harden.  The recipe said to use 1/4 cup, but I think I might try making them a little smaller next time.  After they hardened, I melted a little more chocolate and pressed in the chocolate.  Genuis – they look really cute, even for a novice like me.

They do look just like bird nests!

They do look just like bird nests!

So, those are my two Easter treat projects.  I’m pretty pleased with the results and I will look very Pinterest-y when I arrive at the party with them.

Leave a Reply

