Day 86: Facial and a “Between the Sheets” Cocktail – now that’s what I call a good day!

"Between the Sheets"   - even better because it didn't cost $12

“Between the Sheets” – even better because it didn’t cost $12

Yesterday’s pedicure was so relaxing and effective that I decided to try another pampering idea today.  I’ve never actually gone somewhere to have a facial, but it sounds like a good idea.  And a cocktail called “Between the Sheets”  was just not to be missed!

All this activity occurred pretty late at night because we went out to dinner after work and didn’t get home until later than planned.  We had just planned to run and get “something quick” at the Getaway (my local readers will recognize this name).  It’s a very casual local sports bar with good food and cheap beer and usually you can run in and grab something quick.

Tonight we got there and the place was packed.  As in –  there was a line almost out the door!  We couldn’t figure out what was going on, but apparently there was some kind of promotion happening and they passed out entry forms to fill out for door prizes. We won two tickets to a new movie before we even got in the door  and we never win anything!

We finally made it to our table and about the time a musician showed up with a little entourage.  Apparently he was a local guy who has made it kind of big in Nashville in the country music business.  I don’t know much (anything) about country music, but he was good.  Really good.  Played a lot of Eagles, Jimmy Buffet and lots of other country stuff that even I liked.  So – for the price of a burger and beer we got to hear this really good musician.  It was a fun atmosphere because a lot of his family and friends were there.  It was just an unexpected surprise and lots of fun, but it did mean that I got home later than planned.

Ingredients for my home facial - looks like you could eat this if you wanted to!

Ingredients for my home facial – looks like you could eat this if you wanted to!

I used a DIY Facial Peel recipe that I found at a blog called The Beauty Snoop.  She has some cute things, but again kind of young for me.  I’m probably not going to be able to carry off something called “The Princess Jasmine” hairdo!  At least not without a major uproar from my daughters.  I did think her facial peel recipe looked interesting.  Here’s the link: http://www.thebeautysnoop.com/2013/03/diy-peel-off-detox-facial-masque.html.

This is what it looks like when it's all mixed up - I won't show what it looked like on my face

This is what it looks like when it’s all mixed up – I won’t show what it looked like on my face

I mixed everything up and smeared it on my face.  Like yesterday, I’m not going to show a picture of this activity.  Even Big Daddio looked a little disturbed when I came in wearing this stuff.  I had to leave it on for 30 minutes and it did make my face feel really tight and mask-like.  When I went to “peel” it off it didn’t “peel” like the picture.  I had to just wash it off with hot water, but it did leave my face really clean and smooth.  So I guess that was a success  – although I would recommend making 1/2 the recipe.  It made a ton and I threw away most of it.

My final project was a cocktail called “Between the Sheets” from a site called Dricks’ Rambling Cafe.  OH MY GOSH, this guy has a million great sounding recipes for Cajan and Gulf Coast style cooking.  Here’s the link for the drink I chose: http://dricksramblingcafe.blogspot.com/2010/06/between-sheets-pere-ripiene.html.  I followed the directions, except I used Mango flavored rum to make it a little fruitier.  I CAREFULLY shook it all in my martini shaker, to avoid my last disaster where the top flew off and drink went flying all over the kitchen.

The ingredients - I did substitute Mango flavored rum at the last minute

The ingredients – I did substitute Mango flavored rum at the last minute

I shared this lovely concoction with Big Daddio.  We decided it was wonderful and would cost about $12 in a fancy Chicago bar.  Then we decided to make another batch just to be sure we really like it.  We did!  Now I’m just sad that I didn’t make the cheese-stuffed pear as described in the recipe to go along with the cocktail.  I will definitely be trying that in the future.

Bottom line – this was a fun evening and I really enjoyed my Pinterest-ing today!

Leave a Reply

