Day 82 – Lemon Cookies – a nice little springtime treat from the Easter Bunny

Lemon Cookies - great for Springtime

Lemon Cookies – great for Springtime

Tonight I’m trying an interesting sounding cookie.  I thought would be good for an Easter package I want to send to my daughter who lives too far away.  It’s always sad when she can’t be here for the holidays, but we will be seeing her the following weekend.  I’m not sure if she actually reads my blog or just says she does, so I guess this will be the test!

I bought a bag of lemons the other day.  It was just about the same price to buy a bag as to by a couple on their own.   That is what inspired me to chose this recipe.  That and the fact that I really like lemon.  Lemon bars, lemon cookies, pretty much lemon anything.  I really don’t think you can go wrong with lemon and these also have WHITE CHOCOLATE.  That’s when I knew I had to try this recipe.

I found the recipe at a site called Culinary.net.  It has lots of recipes, so I’ll have to go back and take another look later.  I’m sure I’ll find lots of good ideas.  The recipe I chose tonight was:  http://www.culinary.net/recipes/RecipeDetail.aspx?ID=6028&CourseName=Cookies&CourseID=23.

These cookies are a little funny shaped - next time I might do them a little differently

These cookies are a little funny shaped – next time I might do them a little differently

The only thing surprising about making these was how much lemon peel they took.  I needed 1/4 cup and I used 3 lemons.  I probably could have used more but I got tired of grating.  I think I need a better grater because it was kind of a lot of work.

After you mix the dough, you divide it into four sections and roll into little logs.  After that you wrap them in wax paper and put in the refrigerator for an hour.  Then they are ready to be cut and baked.  You should cut them as soon as they come out of the frig – they definitely get harder to cut when they are warmer.

These cookies will be nice for my Easter baskets.

These cookies will be nice for my Easter baskets.

Mine didn’t spread out and look like the picture on the blog, but they still taste darn good.  I had to laugh at Big Daddio – he came in the kitchen, looked at them and said ” I don’t think I’ll like them”.  Then he tasted them before the frosting and said he liked them, but didn’t think he’d like them with frosting.  After they were frosted he said he liked them even better.  Honestly, some times he just wears me out!  But they are good and have a really nice lemon taste.  The white chocolate doesn’t hurt either!

Let me know if you have of a faster way to grate a 1/4  cup of lemon peel.  That’s the only thing that would slow me down from making them again. They are pretty and are a nice change from more traditional cookies.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

