Day 81 – Best Fries Ever – by Gwenyth Paltrow

Sorry for the weird color.  I used Big Daddio's new phone, but I guess I don't have the hang of it yet!

Sorry for the weird color. I used Big Daddio’s new phone, but I guess I don’t have the hang of it yet!

Tonight I decided to make “The Best Fries Ever” – self proclaimed by the SELF.com site where I found the recipe.  In addition to these no-fry fries from the recipes of Gwenyth Paltrow, the site has a lot of her other recipes and workout tips.  I don’t know if you’ve seen Gwenyth lately, but she was on Glee last season (remember that it’s one of Big Daddio’s favorite show?).  Anyway, if this is what she’s eating to look LIKE THAT, then count me in!

I’m especially thinking about healthy eating and exercise because I’m getting ready to go on a Girl’s Weekend with a bunch of friends in a few weeks.  These “girls” are all in great shape and even though I’ve tried to stay somewhat fit, I’m going to look like a gargoyle next to some of them.  That means I have less than a month to get in fabulous shape.  That is the reason I was looking at  the SELF site in the first place and found a recipe for french fries.

This is all the potatoes I could find.

This is all the potatoes I could find.

I scrounged a few un-rotten potatoes out of the cupboard and threw away the surprising number of rotten ones.  I actually found it surprisingly calming and fulfilling to cut them up into neat little fry shapes.  The only thing that worried me was using my huge scary knife to do the cutting.  I have a very healthy respect for this knife, so I cut pretty slowly.  None of that fast cutting like you see on the cooking shows.

It was actually pretty easy to cut these

It was actually pretty easy to cut these

I put them in the oven for about 25 minutes as directed in the recipe.  I turned them a few times and switched the pans – yes, I did make two pans because I’m sharing with Big Daddio and I had a feeling he was going to like these.

We pulled them out of the oven and started eating.  They were excellent!  Even Big Daddio, who is usually a tough audience really liked them.  Of course, how can you go wrong with hot-out-of the-oven fries?  At least they were cooked in olive oil.  I’m just trying to figure out if Gwenyth eats these WHILE exercising.  I guess I could give that a try!

Leave a Reply

