Day 78: Chicken Cutlets with Balsamic Vinegar Reduction – good and a little fancy

 

Chicken cutlet dinner - this was good!

Chicken cutlet dinner – this was good!

Tonight’s post is from a blog called “Lake Lure Cottage Kitchen”.  I like this blog for a couple of reasons.  First, it’s written by a woman about her beautiful cottage.  She has lots of great pictures and it makes me anxious for spring and to get back to our cottage.  I haven’t mentioned this before, but our family has a wonderful place on Lake Michigan where we spend a lot of time in the summer.  I’m sure I will be doing some Pinterest projects up there once the weather gets warmer.

The other thing I like about this woman  – actually I’m jealous of – is it sounds like she lives close to her grandchildren and spends a lot of time with them.  I’m already missing my granddaughter and hate to think of not seeing her for weeks at a time.  I’m glad to know that I will be with her again in two weeks and can’t wait to see all the things she’s learned to do.

Anyway, there’s a lot of good sounding recipes on this site and one in particular caught my eye.  It’s called Chicken Cutlets with Balsamic Vinegar and Honey Glaze.  It sounded quick and easy to make  after work.  Here’s the link: http://lakelurecottagekitchen.com/?s=chicken+cutlets.

Chicken ingredients - I also cooked the Zatarain's Beans and Rice

Chicken ingredients – I also cooked the Zatarain’s Beans and Rice

I bought some chicken, but wasn’t exactly sure how to make a “cutlet”.  I ended up just cutting them in half horizontally and pounded them a little to flatten.  I breaded them according to the directions and then sauteed them in the olive oil for a few minutes.  They cook really fast because they’re so thin.

I guess these are chicken cutlets!

I guess these are chicken cutlets!

The chicken cutlets cooking - look good, don't they?

The chicken cutlets cooking – look good, don’t they?

Next, I made the sauce which was just cooking the garlic in the butter and then adding the white wine (actually I used Vermouth because I didn’t want to open a whole bottle of wine).  After that cooks down a little I added the vinegar and honey and let it all cook until it got kind of syrupy.  I should mention that I doubled the sauce recipe and I’m glad I did.  There wouldn’t have been enough if I hadn’t.

While all of this was going on I cooked some Zataran’s Red Beans and Rice I had in the cupboard.  It turned out to be just right with the chicken.  It has a lot of flavor and the chicken is pretty simple.

At first Big Daddio was lukewarm on the chicken.  He was hoping for “plain old fried chicken”.   I thought it was very good, especially with the spicy beans and rice.  Even he finally admitted that the chicken “grew on him”.   I would definitely use this recipe again – it was very good and simple to make.

I’m off to the fabric store for some more things to use in upcoming Pinterest projects!

3 thoughts on “Day 78: Chicken Cutlets with Balsamic Vinegar Reduction – good and a little fancy

  1. These look delicious! Very similar to ones my mom used to make, although she didn’t like working with hot oil and baked ours instead. They didn’t get the same crisp outer crust, but they still tasted good!

Leave a Reply

