Day 77: Baked Crab Rangoon

Crag Rangoon - these are really good with the sweet chili sauce.

Crag Rangoon – these are really good with the sweet chili sauce.

Tonight’s project came from a really cute blog called “Iowa Girl Eats”.  She has some great stuff – a whole range from recipes to travel.  I especially like the sound of the Raspberry Lemonade Bars, but for tonight I decided to try the Baked Crab Rangoon.  Here’s the link:  http://iowagirleats.com/2011/12/12/baked-crab-rangoon-recipe-osr-giveaway-winner/.

This recipe just sounded and looked good.  I’ve always liked the crab rangoon from our favorite local Chinese restaurant.  In fact, we used to take the girls there a lot when they were little.  Brooke would always order crab rangoon.  It got to where as soon as we walked in the owner would ask “You want crab rangoon?”  So I guess this recipe just brought back good memories.

Crab rangoon ingredients

Crab rangoon ingredients

This is a fairly simple recipe – not a lot of ingredients.  I’ve never used canned crab, but it tasted good.  I’ve also never used wonton wrappers.  I’ve always been a little intimidated to try them, but these worked just fine.

Crab Rangoon ready to be folded

Crab Rangoon ready to be folded

First, I mixed up the filling.  As I said, it’s very quick and easy.  After that you just have to wrap the filling in the wonton wrappers.  The recipe says to put a tablespoon of filling on each one, but I found that to be too much. I used a little less to keep it from leaking out the sides.  I thought it would be hard to “seal” the edges but it really wasn’t any problem.  I pressed pretty hard, but didn’t go crazy.  Then I just put them on a pan with foil and sprayed them with Pam.  Then popped them in the oven for about 9 minutes.

Crab Rangoon ready for the oven - the recipe made  three trays

Crab Rangoon ready for the oven – the recipe made three trays

They really look good and tasted excellent.  I bought some Sweet Chili sauce that tasted a lot like what we get at the Chinese restaurant.  Yum, these were good.  I would make these again for a party appetizer.  I think you could make them ahead, put them on pans and throw them in the oven when the guests arrive.  They really need to be eaten hot out of the oven.

Crab rangoon appetizer - what a treat!

Crab rangoon appetizer – what a treat!

In the meantime, they are a perfect treat for me and Big Daddio after a hard day.  I might also make them  for Brooke when she’s home, since she’s the real rangoon lover.

Have a good evening.  I hope you’re having as much fun as me – watching American Idol and Project Runway and eating crab rangoon!

Leave a Reply

