Day 76: Rug made from fabric and rubber floor mat – Wasn’t sure about this one!

The finished rug - it will be ok until I order the Pottery Barn Rug.

The finished rug – it will be ok until I order the Pottery Barn Rug.

Last night I needed a quick project, so I tried an idea I’ve had in my mind for awhile. I found it at a sight called All Parenting and the link is: http://www.allparenting.com/my-home/articles/967055/diy-fabric-rug-tutorial.

First, I need to back up a little.  You may be wondering whatever happened to my hall project.  Don’t worry, it is still under construction – just waiting for Big Daddio to be home long enough to finish the painting.  I’m really excited to see it finished but I have to be patient.  Or paint it myself, but let’s not get crazy!  I’m busy working on the other “decor” for this area and as usual I have lots of ideas.  We should be able to do the “big reveal” this weekend but we still have a lot to do.

The idea I worked on was from a pin about “making a rug from any fabric and a rubber floor mat”.  This appealed to me for a couple of reasons:

1)  I’ve really been having a hard time finding rugs that I like and that I can afford.  I’m just too cheap to spend a lot of money for something that people and dogs are going to wipe dirt and mud all over.  Especially because this particular rug will be by my back door and there’s NO WAY I’m going to train my husband to not come in that way with dirty, muddy shoes after working out in the garage and yard.

2)  I saw an idea, probably 30 years ago, about making a beautiful rug with oilcloth and hand painting.  I’ve always wanted to try this, but seriously doubt my skills in this area.  When I saw this pin, I thought it might be a variation that I could handle.

The mat - probably not exactly what I needed,

The mat – probably not exactly what I needed,

I found the rubber mat at the hardware store, but it wasn’t exactly like the one in the pin.  Mine has carpet on the top – it’s not just a smooth rubber.  I wasn’t sure if it would work, but didn’t know where else to look. I probably should see if Lowe’s or Home Depot has something a little more like what’s described in the blog.

The 2nd fabric I chose - I just couldn't find exactly what I wanted.

The 2nd fabric I chose – I just couldn’t find exactly what I wanted.

Next I had to find a fabric that I liked.  This required two trips to the fabric store.  The first time I took Big Daddio, thinking he could help me make a decision.  Sometimes he has surprisingly good taste in things like this.  He somehow cuts thru all the indecision, just picks up something and says “why don’t you use this?”.  This time, however, he didn’t have any interest in the whole project.  He thought it was dumb to make a rug – thought I should just buy one.  And he may have been right.  Rats!.  Anyway, I bought a piece of fabric and brought it home only to discover it was completely wrong.  Ugh – I”ll have to find something to do with it.  Maybe I can make some pillows.

The glue - this stuff really does hold everything.

The glue – this stuff really does hold everything.

I went back to Jo-Ann’s and found another piece of fabric.  Still not exactly what I was looking for, but I thought it was worth a try.  So I took a shot.  It was very simple – just cut the fabric a little bigger than the mat and spray glue all over it.  I think it would have worked a lot better if it didn’t have carpet on the top.  But I managed to get everything glued down and then moved on to the clear polyurethane coat.  I’ve sprayed it about 3 times already and it doesn’t really look coated.  I may have to try brushing instead of spraying.

It looks ok, but I’m afraid Big Daddio may have been right.  Especially because I just saw a rug in the Pottery Barn catalog that I really like.  I’d better wait a little before I order it – just until he forgets about the current project!

Leave a Reply

