Day 75: A dress for the baby – I know she’ll be big enough to wear this someday!

Baby dress - looks a little big.  Kennedy better grow fast!

Baby dress – looks a little big. Kennedy better grow fast!

Hello again!  I’m sorry I keep getting (or staying behind) but I just have never quite recovered from missing that whole week when we were gone for the grandbaby.  I get tantalizingly close and then something comes up and I slip behind again.  But I’m determined to keep going and make it to my goal of one project per day, so don’t give up hope!  No, I’m talking to myself – DON’T GIVE UP HOPE.

Anyway, I was in the mood last night to spend some time with my sewing machine.  I saw a really cute baby dress idea at a blog called Imperfect Homemaking.  Boy, is that perfect for me!   Here is the link: http://www.imperfecthomemaking.com/2012/04/baby-halter-dress-free-pattern-and.html

I used a pattern I already had - I would like to try the online pattern next time.

I used a pattern I already had – I would like to try the online pattern next time.

I didn’t use this exact pattern because I had one that was similar.  Next time I think I’ll try actually printing out the pattern online.  I like the idea she had for putting elastic around the bodice.  Seems like it might make the whole thing fit a little better.

I looked thru my stash of fabric and found this pretty pink and white cotton that I’m pretty sure I bought with the idea of making something for my daughter!  So it’s pretty old, but still looked cute to me.  I found some lace and started cutting.

The top needed a little more pizzazz

The top needed a little more pizzazz

Once I got the bodice finished, I decided it looked kind of plain.  I added some decorative stitching and the green ribbon and bow.  I thought that perked it up a little.  Next came the hardest part – but not too hard.  I just needed to gather the skirt and sew everything together.  That’s always the part where things can go wrong, but in this case everything looked good.

I’d like to point out that I when I sew I almost NEVER sew anything by hand.  So when the directions say to “sew down the bodice lining by hand” – there’s no way I’m going to do that.  I also almost never hem or do anything else by hand.  I’m pointing this out in case you’re a beginner sewer.  I think you should always be open to doing things a little differently.  If you’re using a formal pattern they usually include a lot of things that are kind of old-fashioned.  If you just think about it, you can sometimes come up with a better, faster way.  So be open and don’t be afraid to do things differently.

The bottom - I might have to cut the lace off to make it fit!

The bottom – I might have to cut the lace off to make it fit!

Now that it’s finished, I think it looks cute but BIG.  I’m going to have to get ahold of that baby and see just how much too big this is.  I might just cut off the lace and re-hem it so it’s shorter.  Hopefully I’ll see her soon so I can get some reliable measurements to work with.  There are SO MANY cute dress ideas on Pinterest that I can’t wait to try.  I just hope she has a lot of events coming up!

Leave a Reply

