Day 73: Green & Guinness Chocolate Mousse – Beer and Chocolate!

Chocolate Mousse - chocolate and beer.  How could I go wrong?

Chocolate Mousse – chocolate and beer. How could I go wrong?

As I mentioned, I worked on a couple of St. Patrick’s Day projects this weekend.  I searched around for quite awhile before I came across this recipe for a Green & Guinness Chocolate Mousse.  It sounded different and good so I thought I’d give it a try.  I found it at a blog called Divine Dinner Parties.  This site has lots of full menus and recipes for different occasions, including St. Patrick’s Day.  Here is the link: http://www.divinedinnerparty.com/st-patricks-day-food.html.

The mousse ingredients

The mousse ingredients

There’s quite a few steps to this recipe, so I got started early in the day.  I assembled all the ingredients and then realized I needed a double-boiler.  I don’t have one, so I had to improvise.  You can see the picture below.  That cobbled-together equipment may explain some of the problems I had with this project.  I’m not sure it performed exactly as it should have!

Haha - the improvised double boiler.  I might have to invest in one of those!

Haha – the improvised double boiler. I might have to invest in one of those!

When I got to the step where I had to whip the cream, I had problems getting it to whip properly.  I remembered (too late) that you are supposed to chill the bowl and beaters.  I don’t think it ever got to quite the proper consistency.

The next problem was that I was supposed to whip the egg whites to stiff peaks. This part wasn’t hard, but I was nervous about adding the egg whites without cooking.  I would have bought some of those Egg Beaters if I would have noticed this part before it was too late.  I will say that I ate a couple of these and I didn’t get sick, so I guess my egg didn’t have salmonella.

Once I got the mousse assembled, I made the green chocolate topping.  This is where I really had problems.  It never seemed to thicken or get hard like I thought it would.  I poured it over the top of the mousse and let it set for the rest of the day, but it was still soupy.

This is where the story gets really sad.  I put a number of these into a little pan and took them to our friend’s house.  By the time I got there a couple had tipped over and all the green creamy stuff had run all over the pan.  It was a BIG mess and I ended up just leaving it in the car because it was so gross.  Fortunately there was plenty of dessert so nobody missed it.

This morning I checked the ones that I left in the frig overnight.  These had gotten fairly solid, although the topping was still pretty soft.  I will say this – they taste great!  They have a deep chocolate taste from the Guinness and the green stuff tastes good.  They look pretty, too.

Here’s my final evaluation:

1) Be sure to let them set overnight.  They need about 12 hours to set up.

2) Get the fake egg whites so you don’t have to worry about giving your guests food poisoning.

3) Maybe just tint some whipped cream green in place of the goopy chocolate stuff.  I don’t know if I did something wrong, but it didn’t seem quite right to me.

A cute chocolate mousse

A cute chocolate mousse

Bottom line – they taste and look wonderful.  Kind of a lot of work but they look impressive.  If you know some chocolate lovers it might be worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

