Day 68: Breakfast Sandwiches To Go – Big Daddio should enjoy these!

Breakfast for 6 days - racked and stacked!

Breakfast for 6 days – racked and stacked!

Today I tried another breakfast idea.  I have been looking at these for awhile and finally decided that today was the day.  They seem like a great idea for Big Daddio.  He gets up really early and has to drive about an hour.  I thought this would be nice for him to throw in the microwave and have a hot breakfast before he starts his day.

We went shopping together on the way home from our weekend away.  We discussed the ingredients he would like and decided to try sausage and bacon, but no red peppers.  He mentioned onions but I think that sounds gross so I didn’t put them in.

Egg and bacon ready for the oven - I cooked some sausage, too.

Egg and bacon ready for the oven – I cooked some sausage, too.

The  idea came from a blog called Undressed Skeleton.  I’m not really sure what that refers to, but it’s cute.   Here is the link: http://undressedskeleton.tumblr.com/post/43158050000 

It’s a simple idea to pre-cook the meat and the eggs (in muffin cups).  Then you assemble sandwiches using English muffins and put everything in plastic bags.  The site also suggested daily stickers to use.  Obviously you don’t need to do these, but I couldn’t resist giving them a try.

Assembled and ready for grilling

Assembled and ready for grilling

I cooked up the eggs, sausage and bacon.  Obviously this process results in some dirty dishes at the time, but imagine the time saved in the morning.  I was impressed at how neatly and easily the eggs came out of the pan.  I put everything together and then grilled them in my George Forman grill for about 5 minutes each.

When I got ready to package these, I was a little disappointed because I thought there was a down-loadable template to print the cute daily stickers.  Unfortunately, I realized that I had to just draw circles on cardstock and write on the days of the week.  The author then suggests decorating and coloring – just for fun.  Well, if I was making these for someone else I might have gone the extra mile, but I think that would have REALLY been  wasted on Big Daddio.  He will be perfectly happy without coloring on the labels!

Hand-made labels - probably wasted on Big Daddio!

Hand-made labels – probably wasted on Big Daddio!

I think these turned out looking and smelling very good.  I’m supposed to store them in the freezer and then have him take one out in the morning and cook in the microwave for about 2 minutes.  I’m just actually g;ad that Big Daddio wasn’t here while I was making them, because I’m sure he would have wanted to eat at least one before they ever made it to the freezer.

I’ll report back after he’s tried one in the morning.  Hopefully it will be a big hit!

2 thoughts on “Day 68: Breakfast Sandwiches To Go – Big Daddio should enjoy these!

  1. I made my version of this today, since I was cooking a lot of bacon this morning for brunch and a baked potato soup. I buy the Meijer version of Egg Beaters, so just poured that into the muffin cups and baked about 20 minutes. I also toasted the English muffins before assembling – probably an unnecessary step. Wrapped each in waxed paper and put them in the freezer. Tom will try one tomorrow morning, but gave thumbs up on the visual assessment. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

