Day 65: A Grasshopper Cocktail and a new project

The Grasshoppers - very festive!

The Grasshoppers – very festive!

I have to admit that I’ve been struggling a little to stay caught up with my projects this week.  After being gone all last week, I never quite got organized for THIS week.  So last night was a regrouping session as I tried to figure out what to concentrate on next.

All of this thinking and work led me to the conclusion that I needed a little treat as my project of the night and I went in search of something that wasn’t dessert (no sugar) but would still be really yummy.  I found the cutest blog!  I know I always say that, but this one is really good.  Especially if you’re interested in projects for kids and families or even just really good sounding food.  It’s called Editorial by Tori Spelling.  I assume its the TV star Tori Spelling.  But it doesn’t really matter because she has things like dip-dyed marshmallows, cupcake hats for babies and Green Velvet Cake for St. Patrick’s Day.  I CAN’T WAIT to dig into this site a little more.

She had a whole post about old-fashioned classic cocktails.  They all looked good, but I chose the Grasshopper because it was green and had whipped cream.  Here’s the link: http://torispelling.com/blog/post/bring-it-back-old-fashioned-cocktails.

Here's the martini shaker that created the big mess in my kitchen.

Here’s the martini shaker that created the big mess in my kitchen.

I rifled through the liquor cabinet and found my martini shaker and the ingredients.  It’s really simple – only needed three things, not counting the whipped cream and sprinkles.  I love using a martin shaker because it makes me feel kind of adult and sophisticated.  Except last night, because in my first attempt the top flew off while I was shaking it and green sticky liquid sprayed all over the kitchen!  Even my computer got hit and as I type this my fingers are really sticky.

But in the spirit of getting my Pinterest done for the night, I got right back on the horse and made another batch.  Then I poured it into two cute little glasses, squirted on some whipped cream and sprinkled on some green sprinkles.  I took them into the den where Big Daddio was watching one of his favorite shows – Glee.  This always makes me laugh because I wonder how many grown men love to watch Glee, but he does.  His other new favorite show is Duck Dynasty.  If you’ve never watched it give it a try because it really is hilarious.

Time to tackle this out-dated area of the house.  I never seem to run out of them!

Time to tackle this out-dated area of the house. I never seem to run out of them!

In addition to drinking Grasshoppers, I got started on my next household improvement project.  I decided to repaint my back hallway, which is currently wallpapered with the attractive 90’s style wallpaper you can see in the picture.  That might be kind of generous – I guess it’s more 80’s style!  Honestly, I’m a little embarrassed to show some of this stuff.

I found an inspiration picture on Pinterest that I will use to guide me in this project.  All I got done last night was to rip off part of the wallpaper, but the beauty of that is that once you rip off the first piece you’re committed.  Anyway, I can’t wait to get going on this but it will be awhile because we’re going to be gone again this weekend.  But I’m like a dog with a bone and once I start I will work like crazy to get it done.  I’ll keep you posted.

Have a good Thursday night!

Leave a Reply

