Day 62: Gourmet Meatloaf – a real stretch for Big Daddio

Gourmet Meatloaf ready for the oven

Gourmet Meatloaf ready for the oven

Finally got back to work today.  I had lots to get caught up on and also had to adjust my mindset back from “baby brain” to my regular life.  It was good to see my co-workers and they all tolerated seeing my pictures.  Pretty soon I’ll be one of those grandma’s with a little wallet full of baby pictures that I whip out at the merest hint of interest about my grandchild!

I decided to make a couple of recipes for our dinner tonight after I got home.  Big Daddio loves meatloaf and it’s easy so that seemed like a great idea.  I settled on something called “Gourmet Meatloaf” from a blog called “Lake Lure Cottage Kitchen”.  Looks like there are lots of good recipes there – here’s the link: http://lakelurecottagekitchen.com/2012/03/14/gourmet-meatloaf/.

For the record, the last time I tried to mess with the classic back-of-the-Lipton Soupmix – box recipe was almost thirty years ago.  We had only been married a short time and I decided to try a fancy-sounding Italian meatloaf.  You made a meatloaf mix, kind of rolled it out and then filled with slices of ham and cheese.  After that, it’s rolled up jelly-roll style and covered in come kind of tomato sauce.

Well, I thought I was doing something really wonderful.  Imagine my shock and dismay when Big Daddio was horrified at how I ruined the meatloaf.  He didn’t want any fancy meatloaf and couldn’t understand why I would do SOMETHING LIKE THAT!  He still mentions that meatloaf once in awhile!

I bring this up because I want to show how much I went out on a limb in trying something called “Gourmet Meatloaf”.  But I figured that I had to make something a little more elaborate and I thought this recipe sounded good.

It does take a little more work, but I think it was worth it.  Instead of using Lipton Onion Soup Mix, you make your own seasonings by sauteing some vegetables in butter and then mixing with homemade bread crumbs.  Next, and I think this is the secret ingredient, you process bacon and dried cherries in your food processor and add that to the meat and breadcrumb mixture.

After it cooked, I heated up some mashed potatoes.  I’m not ashamed to say that I buy the refrigerated kind that come in a bag.  Big Daddio doesn’t mind them and you can just heat up the amount that you need in about 4 minutes.  Sure beats all the peeling and cooking of regular mashed potatoes.  I think that kind of thing should be saved for Thanksgiving.

Yum - now that's my idea of meatloaf!

Yum – now that’s my idea of meatloaf!

I really like this meatloaf and I’m not usually a big fan.  This has a slightly sweet and smoky flavor – much better than the regular kind.  Yum!  The big news is that Big Daddio said “This is good”.  Which I was totally not expecting.  The trick was getting it all done and in the oven before he had a chance to critique the individual ingredients!

I would call this a success if you’re willing to spend a little more time.  I will definitely be making this again – it’s almost good enough for company.  I’ll have to keep that in mind.

2 thoughts on “Day 62: Gourmet Meatloaf – a real stretch for Big Daddio

Leave a Reply

