Day 60: Lime & Coconut Chicken – Kind of a Hawaiian theme

This chicken was a big hit!

This chicken was a big hit!

I have one more recipe to post and then I’ll be caught up from last week’s Pinterest debacle.  I guess one man’s debacle is another man’s (or woman’s) grandbaby!

This recipe sounded really good and different.  Also, it needed to go on the grill so I figured that was one way to rope Big Daddio into doing some of the cooking.  I found this recipe at a blog called “Pinned by Dani”.  There were some EXCELLENT sounding recipes there –actually, some really sounding things that I’m going to have to go back and try.   Almost every recipe sounded like something I’d like.  I know I’m not the pickiest eater on earth, but these looked particularly delicious.

The recipe I chose was called Lime & Coconut Chicken.  Here’s the link:  http://www.pinnedbydani.com/2012/04/02/lime-and-coconut-chicken/

It’s pretty simple.  You just marinate some pounded chicken breasts with coconut milk, cumin, lime and some pepper.  I actually couldn’t find the exact type of pepper they mentioned (Thai or Serrano) so I used some Asian pepper sauce I found in Jordan’s refrigerator.  I figured it would add the necessary zing.

I couldn't find all the ingredients, but it all worked out

I couldn’t find all the ingredients, but it all worked out

I mixed everything up and put it into a ziplock bag.  I let it marinate about 2-3 hours and then sent Big Daddio out into the cold to cook it on the grill.  One thing I wanted to mention – I doubled the marinade recipe and used the 2nd half to boil as the sauce.  I discarded the stuff that I used to marinate the chicken, even though the recipe said you could boil it for the sauce.  I guess I’ve heard not to do that too many times.

Anyway, while the chicken grilled I boiled the sauce and cooked some Jasmine rice in the microwave.  I found some great pre-cooked rice that you just throw in the microwave at the grocery store there.  I’m going to check around here and see if I can find them.  They came in these small plastic dishes and needed to be cooked for about 3 minutes.

I love grilled things - Big Daddio gets to cook!

I love grilled things – Big Daddio gets to cook!

I also cut up some mango and pineapple because it seemed to go with my quasi Asian-Hawaiian theme.  The chicken cooked quickly because I had flattened it and sliced it in half.  In a pinch, you could get this whole dinner on the table in about 20 minutes although it took me quite a bit longer because I was messing around with some other stuff.

Big Daddio really liked this chicken.  I also thought it was very good.  Brooke didn’t even try it – too many weird ingredients for her so she resorted to left-over pizza.  Overall, I would say it was a hit and I’d certainly make it again.  Now that we’re home we could throw in a couple of margaritas and really have a great meal!

So that gets me all caught up.  I’m glad I had a chance to do all that cooking for my family.  It was fun and saved us from having to order out for every meal.  Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

