Day 59: Garlic Brussels Sprouts – not for everyone, but that just leaves more for me!

I thought these garlicky brussels sprouts were great!

I thought these garlicky brussels sprouts were great!

Well, I’m starting to get caught up from last week.  I almost had decided to just post a statement that the blogger was out for a few days, but I’m just too darn stubborn.  Those empty spots on the calendar would have driven me crazy and I just wouldn’t have been able to stop thinking about them.  I’m glad I actually did projects and got some pictures or I’d REALLY have a lot of work to do.

If I was doing this in real time, today would be the day that Kennedy comes home from the hospital.  It didn’t happen until about 9:00 at night but you can imagine all the excitement and commotion.  Both dogs were anxious to meet their new “sibling” and welcomed her in a very noisy way.  She had to be introduced to her new nursery and get a look at the house in general.  And then, of course, there was a lot of feeding to do.  It’s amazing how one little baby can keep four adults so busy.

I spent most of the day working and trying to stay caught up a little, so I had the opportunity to do a little cooking as well.  My project for the day was pretty simple, but good.  I knew this wouldn’t appeal to everyone but I thought it sounded good and since I was pretty much the only one around it worked.

The recipe is for Garlic Brussels Sprouts.   I found the recipe at a site called The Cooking Photographer.  Here is the link: http://www.thecookingphotographer.com/2010/12/oven-roasted-garlic-brussels-sprouts.html.   There are lots of beautiful pictures of food, making me think once again that I need to upgrade my camera equipment.

Brussels sprouts are one of those vegetables that kind of have a bad name.  I remember my mom making them when I was a child.  They were always boiled and had a bad cabbage smell.  My dad ate them with vinegar and none of the kids ever wanted anything to do with them.  As I got older I’ve had a few that didn’t seem so bad, which inspired me to try this recipe.  As I’ve mentioned before, anything with garlic is usually alright with me.

Uncooked and ready for the oven

Uncooked and ready for the oven

I followed the recipe and mixed these guys up.  Then I put them in the oven for about 50 minutes and enjoyed the garlicky smell as they roasted.  They turned a lovely light brown and smelled delicious when they were finished.

As I expected, I couldn’t get John or Jay to touch them but Jordan and I both thought they were good.  I think it’s just one of those things that you have to acquire a taste for.  I would definitely make them again – they look, taste and smell good.  I just have to choose my audience carefully!

Liz's blanket

I just wanted to add one final picture of the crib.  You can see the beautiful blanket that my crafty friend Liz made for the baby shower a few weeks ago.  I’m so jealous – I never learned to crochet so I couldn’t even think about doing this.  It sure is beautiful and has “place of pride” in the nursery!

Leave a Reply

