Day 55: A fun and quick project for the new nursery

Curtain for the changing area.

Curtain for the changing area.

We made it down to our daughter’s house.  Thankfully the weather was good and not snowy.  I hate to drive in the snow and Big Daddio really hates to drive with me in the snow.  I guess I get a LITTLE nervous and do a little backseat driving.  But anyway, there was none of that on this trip.

We were at the hospital early in the morning and waited with the “kids” all day as the labor progressed.  As someone who never had an epidural with my own children, I was really impressed by how much more civilized the whole thing is now!  We just sat around an visited, watched TV and waited.  Around 5:00 pm they came in and said she was 8 centimeters dilated.  Shortly after that Big Daddio and I got the boot. For about an hour, we did the stereotypical pacing of the waiting room.  Every 5 minutes, Big Daddio would ask how long it had been and if I thought we should go back and see what was happening.  After about an hour and a half of waiting, we were called back to meet our granddaughter.

It’s hard to describe how adorable she is and how immediately we fell in love with her.  She looks a lot like her father, with dark hair and eyes.  It will be so much fun to watch her grow and change everyday.

You might not think I have a project today, but you would be wrong.  I did do a quick little finishing touch for the nursery and finished it up today.  I did the sewing at home and then put it up today.

The sheet set - lots of possibilities here!

The sheet set – lots of possibilities here!

Jordan wanted a small curtain to cover some things on a shelf in the closet above the area where she’s put her changing table.  We bought a set of pink sheets when we were down here at the last time and I was able to use the ruffled edge of the sheet for the curtain.  I love things like this because I don’t have to do any hemming!  I can hem, but I don’t really like to if it’s not absolutely necessary.  I did find an interesting pin about sewing a tiny hem that I thought that any sewers might be interested in, so I’m including it here:  http://lasewist.blogspot.com/2012/07/kenneth-king-hem.html.  I haven’t tried this, but I will when I’m making some cute dresses for our new baby.

Curtain over the changing table - oh, and my daughter and granddaughter!

Curtain over the changing table – oh, and my daughter and granddaughter!

I think it’s just right and Jordan seems happy with it.  The good news is there is A LOT of pink ruffled fabric left that may just find it’s way into a little dress somewhere down the road.

A simple tie-back for the "closet"

A simple tie-back for the “closet”

I also used some of the fabric to make ties for the curtains that are hung over the wardrobe.  Since this is a small nursery, a lot of things have to do double-duty.  Simple and easy, but effective.  My favorite kind of project!

What the curtain looks like closed - covers all the clothes in "Girl World"

What the curtain looks like closed – covers all the clothes in “Girl World”

That’s it for today.  I’ve got to get some sleep.  Not quite sure what I’ll come up with tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

