Day 54: Couple of quick projects – then off to become grandparents!

Improved couch cushions - but I still need a new couch.  Rats!

Improved couch cushions – but I still need a new couch. Rats!

Well, the day is finally here!  We are going to drive down and get settled in to stay with our daughter and son-in-law as they prepare to have the baby.  They will probably check into the hospital tomorrow, so we want to get down there and be ready!  It will be great to see Jordan and Jay – and of course we can’t wait until we can see that new baby.

I’ve always known that this would put a strain on my blogging life.  I have a couple of ideas that I can do  while down there to keep up with my projects, but I’m sure I’ll get behind for awhile.  Have no fear – I will get caught up eventually.

The two quick projects I did  before we left today are both just household improvement things – nothing exciting but necessary to keep things organized and maintained.

I told you these were bad - I blame the dogs!

I told you these were bad – I blame the dogs!

The first is an idea for improving the look of my old leather couch.  Don’t be confused – this couch needs to be replaced.  I’m currently saving money to buy a new one in something called my “Couch Fund”.  I’ve stopped eating lunch in our cafeteria at work and am now taking leftovers.  This allows me to save $5.00 a day, which I put into my fund.  At this rate, it will take awhile to get the new couch, but I’ve also been eating a little less which is good.

I saw something on Pinterest that showed a rather remarkable transformation of someone else’s old leather couch.  Here’s the link: http://theboatwrightfamily.blogspot.com/2011/07/fixing-leather-couch.html.  This family saw a big improvement by using Kiwi shoe polish on the seat cushions.  It really did look better.

I have a similar looking area on my cushions, so I ran right out and spent a couple of bucks on the shoe polish.  I went home and rubbed it on and hoped for the best.  Maybe it’s because I have a light colored couch and had to buy something called “natural color” or maybe my couch is just in worse condition, but I didn’t think the results were all that great.  It is a little better but didn’t make a real “wow” difference like the shower cleaning I did a few weeks ago.  I guess it’s back to leftover lunch for me!  I’m accepting contributions to my fund if any major sponsors out there would like to contribute.

Finally, shoe racks.  Uh-oh Big Daddio, it looks like I have some empty spots!

Finally, shoe racks. Uh-oh Big Daddio, it looks like I have some empty spots!

The second project may not sound like much to you, but I FINALLY went out and bought some shoe racks for my closet.  This is obviously a no-brainer, but for some reason I’ve never had any.  I was complaining about this flaw in my closet the other day and Big Daddio said “Why don’t you just buy some shoe racks?”  and so I did and PROBLEM SOLVED.  Thanks to Big Daddio for finding some at Target that were on sale for only $9.00 and also putting them together because they were basically just some “boards in a box” when we got them.

So, that’s what I have today.  I hope to get something posted again soon but there may be a brief delay while we have a baby!

Leave a Reply

