Day 50: Recovered bench – all by myself!

The improved bench

The improved bench

Yesterday I was reading a post from earlier this year and I saw one that said “sometimes you just have to go with the flow”.  Today is one of those days, literally.  I got up early this morning and thought I’d run a load of laundry before work.  A little later I heard a terrible sound – like water rushing out onto the floor.  And that’s exactly what it was.  The drain line must have gotten knocked out of place while we were doing our updates in the laundry room.  ARGHHH – there was water all over the bathroom, down the basement stairs and dripping into my craft room.  It even ruined my favorite pad of craft paper that I use all the time!

The good news is that I caught it quickly and was able to get it mostly cleaned up before I left for work.  It wasn’t the end of the world – although Big Daddio is definitely going to be checking out that equipment tonight.  Because now I have piles of wet towels lying around, so I need the washer more than ever!

So that was the start of the day and I have two things going on after work.  In other words, the pictures of my project tonight are going to leave out some big messes going on in the background.  It’s a lot like the Christmas cards I used to send out when the girls were little.  The picture would turn out cute, but no one ever knew about the complete chaos involved in getting them all dressed, hair done, out the door, waiting in the lobby for an hour for the photographer and the thirty minutes spent begging them to all look at the camera and smile at the same time.  Ah, happy memories!

The stained bench - it's hard to see, but trust me it doesn't look good.

The stained bench – it’s hard to see, but trust me it doesn’t look good.

Tonight, I am tackling a small project in our bedroom.  We have a bench in our bedroom that is handy but doesn’t look very good.  For a number of years, lots of things were spilled on it by teenagers as it sat in the basement.  Now that I’ve moved it upstairs, I decided it needs to be recovered.  I checked out some ideas on Pinterest, although I already had a pretty good idea what needed to be done.  Actually, I found lots of great information and inspirations.  It kind of makes me wish I was doing something a little more creative.  The site I used was called “Beyond the Screen Door” with lots of creative ideas for the house.  Here’s the link:  http://beyondthescreendoordesigns.blogspot.com/2011/07/how-to-recovering-bench-cushion.html?m=1

The good news is that we splurged on a new electric staple gun after the vanity stool recovering project.  It only cost $30 and was well worth the investment.  This project went a little more smoothly with less risk of a finger being stapled to a piece of wood.

We found some nice upholstery fabric at Jo Ann Fabrics on the sale table.  Only $6.00 a yard!   I bought   1 ½ yards, but it looks like I could have  done this with only a yard.  It makes me mad that I wasted that $3.00.  I might have to use the extra to make a baby dress!  Haha – just kidding, Jordan!

This morning I got up and figured out how to unscrew the cushion from the frame (lefty loosey, righty tighty – I actually said that out loud!).  Here’s a picture of my work:

The Taken-Apart Bench

The Taken-Apart Bench

Once I got to this point, I casually mentioned to Big Daddio that I wouldn’t be home until about 9:00 and if he wanted to be the first lucky user of the new staple gun, tonight would be his big chance.   Unfortunately, he wasn’t home either.  Which meant that I had to figure out the new staple machine AND recover the bench BY MYSELF.

Which I did and I’m pretty proud of myself.  Fortunately it all worked out and I didn’t shoot a staple in my eye or ruin anything.  I even got it screwed back together.  I’m going to be a force to be reckoned with now that I know how to use a staple gun!

Anywho, it looks great and  I think it was a nice improvement, even though I’m about the only one who ever sees it.  That’s all I’ve got for tonight.  I’ll be out again tomorrow, so I may have to find a guest blogger.   Hmmm, who could I get…..?

Leave a Reply

