Day 48: Healthy Food – Autumn Chopped Salad and Oatmeal Cupcakes

Autumn Chopped Salad- healthy and delicious

Autumn Chopped Salad- healthy and delicious

I’m back to work after a very productive weekend – if I do say so myself!  It’s always nice to put a big project behind you, even if there’s another one waiting right behind it.  I have a busy week coming up with meetings almost every night, so I’m going to do less ambitious projects for a few days.  Also, I don’t want to tear up anything too much because we may get the call about the baby anytime now.

My first project is actually from yesterday.  My post started getting pretty long so I decided to save my salad from the Thanksgiving dinner for today.  It turned out very good and I decided it deserved a spot in my blog.  Besides, I want to be sure I can find it again so I can make it in the future.

I found this recipe at a site called Espresso and Cream.  Another cute newlywed with lots of great ideas.  Here’s the link for the salad: http://espressoandcream.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/autumnchoppedsalad1.jpg

Here are a couple of thoughts about this recipe:

1)     This is a really simple salad that looks impressive without a lot of work.  I had to chop up some nuts and pears and cook a pound of bacon.  Other than that, it’s just a lot of dumping and mixing.  I like things like that!

My favorite Moose Platter

My favorite Moose Platter

2)     The recipe suggested putting it on a platter and I immediately thought of my favorite Moose Platter that my friend brought me from Alaska.  It’s such an unusual dish and always fun to use.  It was the perfect gift, because whenever I use it I think of her – thanks Kristen!

3)     This makes a lot of salad.  I used two bags of romaine lettuce and I was worried that it wouldn’t be enough because there were 10 guests at the dinner.  We had plenty and a few leftovers for dinner today.  That’s another thing – it’s a sturdy salad and was still good today.  I usually just throw away salad leftovers because they’re never good the next day.

I would definitely make this again and would recommend it if you need a salad for a good sized group.

My second recipe is for something called Berry Oatmeal Cupcakes.

A healthy oatmeal cupcake snack - I love the "cupcake" part!

A healthy oatmeal cupcake snack – I love the “cupcake” part!

I wanted to try this recipe because it fits (basically) into my current no flour, no sugar Lenten diet.  It’s from a site called GreenLiteBites.  It’s a cute site with lots of healthy ideas.  Here’s the link: http://greenlitebites.com/2008/09/21/berry-oatmeal-cups/

I mixed these up quickly tonight and now have a batch waiting for my breakfast all week.  They taste good – yes, I tried one tonight.  Well, I couldn’t very well write about it in my blog unless I tried one (or possibly two).  I’m hoping that even John will like them although it’s not really his kind of thing.
Oatmeal Cupcakes - I only had Halloween wrappers!

Oatmeal Cupcakes – I only had Halloween wrappers!

Well, that’s about it for tonight.  I’m trying to get some planning done so I can still get my blog out on time when the baby comes.  Can’t disappoint my readers!

Leave a Reply

