Day 41: Sugared Pecans

Sugared Pecans in a cute gift cone

Sugared Pecans in a cute gift cone

After my big day yesterday, I needed a little relaxation this afternoon.  We are still painting the bathroom cupboards and other things (well, I should really say that John did a lot of painting today).  I’m hoping to have some pictures by the end of this week – it’s definitely taken longer than I expected.  We’re finally getting close!

I haven’t decided yet what our next big project will be.  I have some ideas, but I’ve found that it’s best to not think too far ahead when dealing with Big Daddio.  I tend to always be thinking about the next thing, but he likes to just concentrate on one project at a time.  Another example of how we approach things differently!

I tried another little crock pot idea today.  I found it at a cute site called the Gingerbread Blog – wow, lots of cute ideas there.  She had a great sounding recipe for Sugared Pecans – here is the link:  http://www.thegingerbreadblog.com/2011/06/crock-pot-recipe-sugared-pecans.html

Ingredients - actually you use confectioners sugar.  I realized that after I took the picture

Ingredients – actually you use confectioners sugar. I realized that after I took the picture

This was simple and only took a couple of hours.  It’s an unusual recipe because you cook the nuts with the lid off and stir it occasionally.  It really makes the house smell great.  After the cooking is finished, you stir in the spices:  cinnamon, gloves and ginger.  At that point they are basically irresistible.  I took a small sample into Big Daddio and the next thing I knew he was prowling the kitchen looking for the ones I had hidden away.  They are great by themselves as a snack, but I’m also thinking they would be great in a salad.

Really, you can't stop eating these when they're warm out of the crock pot

Really, you can’t stop eating these when they’re warm out of the crock pot

Since the post showed them in a cute cone, of course I had to try that, too.  I realized as I got into that it wasn’t quite as simple to make a cone as I thought.  I actually had to go to a site called  “The Hostess with the Mostess”.  Very good ideas and it included a printable template.  I used some of the pretty craft paper that I just happen to have now that I’m a blogger!  It is cute, although John said the nuts tasted the same out of a cone as they did out of a bowl.  Just like a husband to miss the point of the cuteness!

What you need to make a paper cone - pretty simple!

What you need to make a paper cone – pretty simple!

That’s about it for today.  We just got back from a great evening with our Study Group.  Our wonderful friends threw a little “Grandparent’s Shower” to help us get stocked up on things to spoil the baby with when she comes.  It was such a nice idea and I’m pretty sure they will read this – so I can say “Thank You” right here!

Have a good evening.  Hi ho, hi ho – it’s back to to work we go tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

