Day 39: Closet Organizing – Boots & T-shirts mastered

Organized t-shirts - now I can see what I have!

Organized t-shirts – now I can see what I have!

Tonight my projects had to take a practical turn, because we’re having some folks over  for dinner tomorrow night.  This will be their  first time at our house and I can’t have them  thinking we live like this all the time.  I had to abandon all my fun projects and turn my attention to more practical issues like cleaning and  organizing my closets and drawers.

Fortunately, I’ve tucked away a couple of ideas that came in handy and I thought I’d share them in case you might also have to do practical stuff like this.

First, here’s a little quiz!  Look at the picture below:

What do you see?

What do you see?

What do you see?

a)  A closet with more boots than any rational person should possibly own.

b)  Well organized wardrobe of boots – just the right amount for a fashionable woman living in the hinterlands of Michigan in the winter.

If you answered “a”, you must be my husband or some other mis-guided man.  If you answered correctly – “b” – you clearly understand and appreciate the need for a well-stocked closet.  You also may notice how nicely all those boots are standing up!

This little project quickly and cheaply solved an ongoing problem with my boots – they were always falling over , looking very un-kempt and unsophisticated.   I saw the following pin on a site called  Jessica Rose Greenwood, a thoughtful blog by a single mom.  She had the great idea to cut up pool noodles and use them as boot inserts.  Here is the link:  http://www.jessicarosegreenwood.com/2/post/2012/11/boots-boots-boots.html

A small sampling of my magazine collection. I probably should read that article about breaking bad habits - like hoarding magazines!

A small sampling of my magazine collection. I probably should read that article about breaking bad habits – like hoarding magazines!

I took this idea one step cheaper and used my old magazines!  I am a closet magazine hoarder, so I just rolled those suckers up and finally put them to work.  You can see a couple sticking out of the top of the shorter boots.  So, this serves two purposes – keeps my boots out of trouble and allows me to cleverly hide my magazines from Big Daddio, who is always complaining about the stacks of “junk” laying around.   Clever and cheap – what could be better!

A second useful idea was described as “life-changing”  by one commenter.  It was found at a site called “Memories Organized” http://www.memoriesorganized.com/2011/06/just-roll-with-it-especially-your-t-shirts/

Now, I would normally reserve “life changing” for an inspirational poem or maybe a double-chocolate flourless cake with raspberries and whipped cream.  But this idea for rolling up your shirts in the drawer, thereby saving space and allowing more visibility, is very clever.  I tried it out with some t-shirts and camis and I think it worked very well.  I’ll be rolling up a lot more clothes and I’ll definitely do it with Big Daddio’s shirts, because he has a bad habit of wearing the same shirt over and over again because he never looks to see what’s underneath!

Well, that’s it for tonight.  I hope these ramblings will be helpful to someone out there.

Leave a Reply

