Post 38: Mexican Crockpot Enchiladas

The un-burned enchiladas - this part tasted was good

The un-burned enchiladas – this part tasted good

Tonight I tried another crockpot dinner.  It’s such a great thing to walk in at night and smell something good cooking.  I tried something called Crockpot Enchiladas – the pin said it was the best crock pot recipe EVER.  Well, how could I pass that up?

I found the recipe at a site called Heritage Schoolhouse. http://heritageschoolhouse.blogspot.com/2010/04/crock-pot-enchilads.html

I put everything together this morning, turned it on and headed off to work.  The only problem with this recipe is that it says to only cook it for 2-2 1/2 hours.  As I have pointed out before, I’m expected to be at work longer than 2 1/2 hours so I knew that was going to be an issue.  So I just set it for 6 hours and put it on warm after that – using my life motto of “what’s the worst that could happen?”

When I got home and looked in there, it was definitely a little overcooked (see below).  Actually Big Daddio said “it looks horrible”.  I have to agree that it looked a little overdone, but I don’t give up that easily.  I just scooped down past the burny part and got some from the middle.  And that seemed to be fine, so I put some on a plate with some tortilla chips and a little sour cream and settled down to eat my dinner.

I guess it did look a little dark!

I guess it did look a little dark!

I am happy to report that it was actually quite good, if a little mushier than it was probably supposed to be.  So here’s my  verdict on this recipe:  I think you could do it on a Saturday afternoon and then come home later for a tasty dinner.  Unfortunately for me, that kind of defeats the purpose of a crock pot dinner.  I want to be able to leave something alone all day and then come home and eat it.  I’ll have to leave it up to you if it’s something that would work in your house.  I did think the un-burned part tasted good!

That’s about it for today except for a quick update on the cabinet project.  Poor, naive me!  I thought I’d have those doors up by tonight.  Ha – now I’ve decided that they all need to be spray painted and coated with poly-urethane.  I think it will probably be Sunday before I finish them.  I’m hoping they will be so spectacular that I won’t mind the extra time and work!

Well, I’m going to head to bed and read my book group book “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” because our satellite has gone out for some unexplainable reason and now I can’t watch Project Runway.  Have a great evening!

Leave a Reply

