Day 37: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

My banana bread snack!

My banana bread snack!

Hello – I just have time for a quick post tonight.  I’m on my way to Bell Choir in a few minutes and wanted to make sure I got this done earlier rather than later.  There seems to be a direct correlation between my level of alertness and the number of mistakes I find when I re-read the blog a couple of days later.  It’s a good thing that it’s easy to make corrections in WordPress.

I’ve been painting up a storm and was actually hoping to have my cabinets ready to unveil tonight  But I can see that it will be at least another day or two until it’s finished (properly).  So I’m going to be patient and do it right.  I am feeling rather proud of myself because I took the doors off myself and removed all the hardware – including the hinges.  John was pretty surprised when he walked in and found me surrounded by all the unhinged doors!  However, I think it will be best to let him put everything back together.

So what to make tonight?  I saw a recipe for Chocolate Chip Banana Bread on a site called The First Year.  It is really cute – about this very cute couple’s first year of marriage and all the things she has tried.  Kind of makes me wish I would have started on these house projects a little sooner!

Here’s the link: http://thefirstyearblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/easy-banana-chocolate-chip-bread/

Bread ingredients - I had exactly three bananas

Bread ingredients – I had exactly three bananas

Anyway, I chose the Chocolate Chip Banana Bread because I had everything needed and Big Daddio loves banana bread.  Also, the recipe calls for 3 overripe bananas and I had exactly three overripe bananas – so it almost seemed like a sign from God!  And so I did.

It was very easy  – just like regular banana bread with chocolate chips.  Just what I would have expected from the name of the recipe.  After 50 minutes of baking, it looked and smelled wonderful.  The only thing I did differently than the recipe was to add parchment paper to the bottom of the pan.  It keeps it from getting too dark and comes out really easily.  It tasted really good and Big Daddio said the only thing missing was some nuts.  I might try that next time.

A beautiful loaf of bread

A beautiful loaf of bread

That’s about it for tonight.   Expect, I almost forgot to thank those of you who sent comments about the rug.  It looks like Rug #1 is in the lead.  I’m going to wait until I get a few more things done, but I think it will probably be the winner.  Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

Have a great evening.

2 thoughts on “Day 37: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

