Day 36: Winner, winner Chicken Dinner

Success - really good chicken!

Success – really good chicken!

Well, I’m back to painting tonight.  Yikes, I’m going to turn into painter if I’m not careful.  John always says “Do you know what you’re doing?”  I think it’s because I make him nervous and he always assumes he can do a better job than I can.  Hey, if he ends up doing it instead of me, who am I to complain!  (remember the story of Tom Sawyer?)

I think that I grew up kind of afraid of painting because of my parents.  They made it seem like a very mysterious and rather dangerous process, probably because they didn’t want any of us kids getting any bright ideas.  Also, back in those days you always had to use turpentine to clean the brushes, which was a very nasty business.  And if you got that oil paint on anything you weren’t supposed to, like your clothes, it was all over.  So that’s what I think explains my healthy respect for the whole process.

Tonight I’m starting to paint the cabinets over the washer and the trim around the window.  It will either by white or gray – I haven’t been able to decide yet.  I discussed it at length with Jordan today but couldn’t really picture in my mind which would look better.  We both agreed that the vanity is a success and makes the pinstriped wallpaper look less obnoxious.

For my actual Pinterest project tonight, I’m making a very simple dinner with things I already had in the house.  I had two chicken breasts in the fridge and started looking for a good sounding recipe.  I’ve always been a little leery of cooking chicken breasts because they sometimes turn out tough and tasteless.  Once, when I was about 8 months pregnant, I made chicken breasts for Big Daddio.  He tasted them and made some comment about them being “tough and rather tasteless”.  Well, he didn’t bargain on the strength of pregnancy hormones.  I was so furious that I picked up the whole serving plate of chicken and chucked it at the wall.  Haha – it felt really good for about 2 seconds until I realized how long it was going to take to clean it up.  Suffice it to say that chicken breasts don’t hold very good memories in our house!

The Greek Seasoning- I think this is what made the difference

The Greek Seasoning- I think this is what made the difference

Anyway, I found this site with basic instructions for cooking chicken breasts – how could I go wrong?   Here’s the link:  http://www.wikihow.com/Bake-Chicken-Breast

It sounded like it was written by a man.  I took their suggestion to sprinkle with salt & pepper, coat with some olive oil and then throw on “any kind of seasoning you want”.  Yep, definitely written by a man!  I followed the directions and used some Greek Seasoning (see below) that I had in the cupboard.  I actually used quite a bit of it and then topped it with a little dried rosemary and some parmesan cheese.  I stuck it in my handy-dandy KitchenAid countertop oven for about 30-35 minutes.

Now I hate to brag about my own cooking, but this was pretty darned good.  It was really tender and flavorful.  I also cooked a little pasta, added some parmesan and butter and then made another Greek salad with the stuff I had left from the other night.  I really have to say this was some of the best chicken I’ve ever made and was in no danger at any point of being thrown against the wall.

One last thing:  I picked out two rugs today and I can’t decide which one I like best.  So I thought I’d post a picture of each one and let my loyal readers help me make the decision.  Not really a contest, since there’s no prize (sorry) but it will help me make up my mind.  Leave a comment and let me know what you think – rug 1 or rug 2?

Rug 1

Rug 1

Rug 2

Rug 2

So that’s it for tonight.  I hope this helps someone else with “chicken issues”!  I will hopefully have another painting project for tomorrow.

9 thoughts on “Day 36: Winner, winner Chicken Dinner

Leave a Reply

