Day 35: The Vanity!

The updated vanity - Big Daddio did a great job

The updated vanity – Big Daddio did a great job

I’m excited to be able to reveal one of the projects we’ve been working on for the past few days.  This is a vanity in the guest bath/laundry room at our house.  Also, the cat thinks it is his room. Hopefully he’s not reading my blog or he’ll get in a mood and sulk around for a couple of days.

Here was my inspiration:

http://www.frontdoor.com/sell/maximum-value-bathroom-projects-counters-and-vanity/55439

We’ve been working on an old oak vanity that’s been in the house as long as we have and was probably in style a couple of decades ago.  It never really seemed bad enough to worry about before, but once I set my sights on this bathroom it suddenly became a priority.  I decided that it could be updated with a good paint job and new hardware and fixtures.  I wish I had gotten a good picture of it before I started with the white paint because it was really outdated.

At least we've made progress on one side of the room!

At least we’ve made progress on one side of the room!

Big Daddio and I both pitched in on the painting and then he really took over.  He replaced all the hardware – the drawers even slide now!  He changed the faucet, which was pretty amazing considering he had fairly recently put in a new one.  But it was gold, which definitely didn’t go with my decorating scheme so he graciously took it out.  Although he is threatening to put it somewhere else in the house –   we’ll have to see about that!  He also replaced the lights, towel hanger, switch plates and the toilet paper holder.  I thought it was funny that that was the one thing he had a strong opinion about!  He wanted one where the toilet paper just slides on to the bar.  He was very specific about not wanting one where you have to push in the little things on the end.  Haha – it just goes to show you the strange things that go thru the minds of men.

The 30 year old pink duck picture is gone - you'll have to take my word for it!

The 30 year old pink duck picture is gone – you’ll have to take my word for it!

I also put up a new shelf above the toilet and replaced all the ugly, dusty stuff that was up there.  I mean, was there really any excuse for the pink duck and heart picture that had been hanging up there since 1983?  The only thing I haven’t been able to find yet is a rug that I like but that can wait a few days.  I’m still working on the window area and trying to figure out a curtain that will work.  I don’t know why, but I really have a hard time picking out things for the windows.  But I’ve got a plan in mind that I hope works out.

So that’s where we are right now.  Lots of painting left to do before it’s finished, but I invited some folks from work over this weekend so I really don’t have any choice but to get it done by then.  And that’s the way I work best – under pressure!

Speaking of being under pressure, I’ve decided that I need to exercise more and lose some weight.  I got to thinking that I’ve managed to develop some new disciplines thru this blog, so I’m going to make myself accountable to lose 2 pounds a week until I get to my “goal weight”.  Which I’m not going to write down or anything, but I’ll be sure to share the exciting news when I get there.  Hopefully by spring I’ll be a little more excited about the possibility of wearing a swim suit than I am now.

Off to watch the Bachelor.  Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

