Day 34: Super Bowl PF Chang’s dinner (Lettuce Wraps)

Lettuce wraps and egg drop soup - a very good way to celebrate the Super Ball

Lettuce wraps and egg drop soup – a very good way to celebrate the Super Bowl

First, I would like to mention that today is my youngest daughter Brooke’s 21st birthday.  It’s kind of hard to believe, but at least we can all finally order a beer together!  Happy Birthday, Brooke!!

Tonight is Super Bowl Sunday.  I almost hate to admit that Big Daddio and I are sitting on our couch in our pjs – which is honestly not a bad way to watch the game.  We can get comfortable and eat whatever we want – which tonight is a PF Chang knockoff dinner including lettuce wraps and egg drop soup.

John has been very helpful today and did a lot of work on my vanity project.  I actually thought I was going to be able to reveal the results tonight, but we ran into a last minute snafu.   Anyway, he’s been asking me to make lettuce wraps for awhile and I thought tonight would be a good time to make them.

I’ve tried these before but couldn’t remember what I did with the recipe I used.  I looked around on Pinterest and finally found this recipe at a site called Table for Two.  There’s lots of interesting looking recipes, including some crockpot things I may have to try.

The chicken mixture cooking - lots of chopping.

The chicken mixture cooking – lots of chopping.

Anyway, this recipe looked pretty much like what I remembered doing before, although I actually think it’s quite different.  The hardest thing about this is all the chopping – just make sure you do this on a night when you have a little time.  Or I suppose you could chop everything up the day before and then cook at the last minute.    The actual cooking only takes about 15-20 minutes.

The ingredients I used for the sauce

The ingredients I used for the sauce

One thing I wasn’t sure about was how to make the sauce that they have at PF Chang’s.  I couldn’t find an exact recipe, but it looked like I should use some combination of soy sauce, Chinese Chili sauce and hot Chinese mustard.  I tried 4 tablespoons of the soy sauce and the chili sauce and then added hot mustard to taste.  I like things spicy, so I added quite a bit of mustard.

The egg drop soup was also Big Daddio’s idea.  I’m more of a hot and sour soup girl, but I figured after all his hard work on the bathroom I should go along.  That, and it’s super easy to make egg drop soup and I think hot and sour soup takes about 15 ingredients – most of which I didn’t have.

Everything cooking happily

Everything cooking happily

I kind of followed the recipe shown at this link, but I didn’t have any scallions so I just basically heated up some chicken broth, thickened it with the corn starch and stirred in the eggs.  I think it could have been a little better, but John seemed happy enough.

We sat down to watch the Super Bowl with our big plates of lettuce wraps and egg drop soup.  Yum!  The only problem is that I just watched the half-time show with Beyonce and I’m really thinking I have to get serious about my diet again.  Just one piece of cheesecake and next week I’ll hit it hard……   More about that tomorrow.

Enjoy the game and I hope whoever you’re rooting for wins!

Here are the links for the lettuce wraps and the soup:

http://www.tablefortwoblog.com/2013/01/09/from-the-archives-take-out-fake-out-chicken-lettuce-wraps/

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2011/04/chinese-egg-drop-soup-recipe.html

One thought on “Day 34: Super Bowl PF Chang’s dinner (Lettuce Wraps)

  1. Pingback: Day 34: Super Bowl PF Chang’s dinner (Lettuce Wraps) - Mymsn5 Today

Leave a Reply

