Day 32: Reversible hooded blanket for the new baby

Cute reversible hooded blanket for the new baby

Cute reversible hooded blanket for the new baby

February 1st!  One thing about this blogging thing is that it makes you really aware of what the date is.  I can’t believe we’re already into February.  From past experience I know that once January is over, the rest of the year flies by and  before I know it I’ll be trying to get my Christmas cards done again.  And I have to admit that I just mailed my New Year’s cards this week – so I’m already behind.  Or maybe ahead depending on how you look at it.

Anyway, I was feeling a little down in the dumps today and I think it’s because it’s so cold and miserable and gloomy. And then I remembered that this time last year I was leaving to go on a cruise – which means that instead of struggling thru a parking lot that looks like the Russian Tundra, I was wearing a bathing suit and sitting on the deck of a  beautiful cruise ship.  And drinking over-priced beers with a bunch of good friends.  Hmmm, no wonder I’m a little depressed.

But no February vacation for me this year, because I’m waiting for the birth of our new baby (I know, I know it’s not TECHNICALLY ours).  So in honor of the big event that should be coming up in just a couple of weeks, I decided to make a baby blanket that I found at a site called Blissful Sewing for Your Little Fashionista.  http://blissfulsewing.blogspot.com/2012/06/reversible-hooded-baby-flannel-free.html#.UQxzEI4gI20.  There are lots of cute ideas, but this is one that looked pretty easy.  Which is good, because as I’ve mentioned before, I’m a little out of practice.

The project involved a trip to the fabric store.  I had forgotten how much fun it is to wander thru the aisles imagining all the projects I could make if I had the time.  I found some fabric that I thought would work well.  The pattern suggests using solid color fleece but I couldn’t resist these cute cat and striped fabrics.  Then I saw the pink rick-rack and decided to do things a little differently then the pattern showed.

Couldn't resist the cats - in honor of our cat Pumpkin

Couldn’t resist the cats – in honor of our cat Pumpkin

I still had some of the eyelet fabric left from my earlier stool project.  I decided to use that to make the hood, which eliminated the need to finish the edges.  I also decided to add some little ears at the top.  And of course when I got it all finished I decided I needed to go around the edges with some decorative stiching. Which explains why this took me considerably more then the “less than a half hour” that was described in the instructions.  Haha  – kind of like how a 30 minute Rachel Ray meal takes 4 hours to make!

Of course I had to alter the pattern a little!

Of course I had to alter the pattern a little!

But anyway, I really like the finished results and I’m hoping the new baby will enjoy it.  I guess it won’t be a surprise, since my daughter is one of my most faithful readers!  But I did have a good time making it and am already thinking of some other great projects I probably need to make.

One thought on “Day 32: Reversible hooded blanket for the new baby

Leave a Reply

