Day 31: Greek Night! Gyros and Greek Salad

Greek Dinner - almost as good as Mr. Gyros

Greek Dinner – almost as good as Mr. Gyros

Well, I actually made it to the end of the month.  I know there were lots of folks (mostly relatives) that never thought I’d make it this far in my Pinterest/Blogging life.  And I don’t blame them, because I wasn’t really sure about it myself.  I have to say that it hasn’t been that hard, although it has kind of taken on a life of it’s own.  The good news is that I’ve gotten a little more organized, gotten some things done around the house and we’ve definitely been eating better!  I’m excited to see what the next 11 months will bring.   And don’t be fooled – I have no idea!

Today I took a plate of the Neiman Marcus brownies to work.  I knew I had to get them out of the house or John and I would both gain 10 pounds.  I have to say that they were very well received by the crew at work – although almost anything edible is well received around there.  I think they were almost better today after they had a chance to firm up a little.

Tonight I thought I’d try to make a decent dinner for me and Big Daddio to enjoy together.  This will be the first and possibly only night this week that we will both be home for dinner and it’s another cold and snowy evening so it will be great to watch the second night of American Idol together.

Greek dinner ingredients

Greek dinner ingredients

I chose a recipe for Greek Chicken Gyros from a blog called Tide & Thyme.  They had some good sounding recipes that I’m going to have to go back and look at – how about Beer Candied Bacon or Guiness cupcakes with Bailey’s buttercream?  http://tideandthyme.com/chicken-gyros/ 

We love the gyros at the little place down the street and I knew these wouldn’t be quite as good (because they have that big rotisserie thing), but they still looked like something we’d enjoy.  It’s pretty simple and just what you’d expect.  I bought pre-marinated lemon-pepper chicken and threw it in the oven for about 40 minutes.  In the meantime, I made the Tzatziki sauce which is really just cucumbers and yogurt.  I’ve always wondered what was in that.   For the record, I didn’t do any of the draining and drying mentioned in the recipe.  Maybe it was because I used Greek yogurt, but it seems perfect without any of that.

Tzatziki sauce - it really makes the gyros

Tzatziki sauce – it really makes the gyros

I also cut up some tomatoes, onions and cucumbers and then pulled the chicken out of the oven.  We sliced it up and assembled our gyros to our own tastes – Big Daddio doesn’t like tomatoes and I don’t really like raw onion, so we usually end up swapping those when we go to the Greek restaurant.  In the spirit of a little theme dinner, I mixed up a greek-style salad with some olives (Big Daddio doesn’t like these either, but I threw them in just to make it look right) and feta cheese.

Now, knowing us as well as you do now, you’re probably thinking – what are they having to drink?  I wasn’t really sure what would be greek except for ouzo, which I really didn’t know anything about.  So we’re just settling for a beer.  And of course we’ll wrap up with a few leftover Neiman Marcus brownies.

That’s all for tonight.  I may try to get started on some painting I want to do, but I won’t have much to show for that for a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

