Day 30: Neiman Marcus Brownies and a Dirty Girl Scout

A little treat for a cold and snowy night!

A little treat for a cold and snowy night!

Tonight I’m making a couple of recipes that are not exactly on my “no sugar, no flour” diet.  I decided on Nieman Marcus Brownies and a cocktail called a Dirty Girl Scout.  I will comment on each of these individually and then explain why I’m having this little party by myself (Big Daddio is out and about tonight).

The ingredients for the Dirty Girl Scout and my special shot glass

The ingredients for the Dirty Girl Scout and my special shot glass

The Dirty Girl Scout :http://thisbottleofvodka.tumblr.com/post/3110381736/the-dirty-girl-scout-serve-with-your-favorite,  I found this at a funny site called “This Bottle of Vodka.  There seems to only be one recipe, but it’s sure sounds good.  It’s supposed to taste like a Girl Scout thin mint.  Between the great name and all the promising sounding ingredients I figured I couldn’t go wrong.  I thought about making another trip to the liquor store in the hope of getting carded again, but I decided not to push my luck.  I found all the ingredients at home except for the White Creme De Menthe (I substituted with Peppermint Schnapps) and mixed up this delicious sounding drink using my special shot glass that my sister bought for me at Buckingham Palace when she went to the Summer Olympics in London.  How cool is that!  I think it tastes pretty good, but I don’t know if it really tastes like a Thin Mint Cookie.  I drank it in one of my favorite glasses from my last cruise.  Overall, pretty good – but you sure shouldn’t drink very much of it.

The only five ingredients needed for the Neiman Marcus Brownies

The only five ingredients needed for the Neiman Marcus Brownies

The Neiman Marcus Brownies were found at a really cute site called Kevin & Amanda.  Here’s the link:  http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/.  They have some interesting sounding recipes and really beautiful pictures.  It makes me think I should upgrade my camera equipment, which I just might get around to this weekend.  Anyway, as soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it – I love Neiman Marcus and I love cake!  What a coincidence!  Although I was a little confused, because the pin calls these Neiman Marcus Brownies, but the blog calls them Chess Squares.  But whatever – they are really good. Kind of cheesecakey and wonderful!  I can really recommend these.

So here I sit, watching American Idol and enjoying my recipes.  I’m celebrating almost reaching the end of my first month of Pinterest-ing.  Also, I just passed 1200 views of my blog!  Not bad for somebody who had no idea how to blog just one month ago!

I also worked on my grout cleaning project again.  I have a big kitchen floor, so it’s going to take awhile.  But I’m really encouraged that it’s going to be a nice improvement.

Well, enjoy your evening and check back tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

