Day 27: Baked Oatmeal and a cute nursery idea

A good way to make breakfast for a group - and it has chocolate chips!

A good way to make breakfast for a group – and it has chocolate chips!

Well,  I woke up this morning feeling about 100% better than yesterday, although I still have a way to go.  I am so relieved that at least I feel good enough to do some shopping for the nursery – yea!  We are also going to look for a dress for my daughter’s 21st birthday.  This is just about my favorite way to spend a day.

Knowing that I would be out of town over the weekend, I pre-planned making a baked oatmeal dish while at my daughter’s house.  I figured I could kill two birds with one stone – a pinterest project and breakfast all in one.  I took a foil pan and most of the ingredients with me and just filled in with a few things from my daughter’s kitchen.

I found this recipe on a fun site called “Urban Nester” http://alwaysamrsforeverakidd.blogspot.com/2012/01/gluten-free-baked-oatmeal-casserole.html.  She has a lot of gluten-free recipes.  Now, I’m honestly not interested in gluten-free (although I have a sister-in-law who is very into it) but a lot of the recipes look good anyway!  Such as this oatmeal casserole.

We put it together, baked it and sat down to enjoy our breakfast.  The reviews ranged from “It’s better than starving to death” from my youngest, pickiest daughter to “Yum, I’d make this again” from my oldest, pregnant and eating everything that doesn’t move daughter.  I personally thought it was good and let’s face it – how can you go wrong with a breakfast that includes chocolate chips!  We all eat a couple of bowls and still had enough to leave a good sized bowl of leftovers.

What a cute changing table idea!

What a cute changing table idea!

I wanted to show a picture of the cute changing table area of the nursery.  My daughters put this together last night while I was lying at death’s door in the guest room.  I love the  flowers  – they’re attached with little push-pins.  I also love the idea of putting this in the closet area.  It is a very small nursery, so this is a great use of space.

One more picture before I go – the wardrobe.  Looks like this little girl will have plenty to wear for awhile!

I love all these cute pink clothes.

I love all these cute pink clothes.

Leave a Reply

