Day 24: Roasted Corn, Black Bean and Avocado Enchiladas

Yum, Enchilada's call for margaritas!

Yum, Enchilada’s call for margaritas!

Tonight I’m getting ready to go to visit our daughter for the  weekend.  We are going to help set up the nursery for our new granddaughter.  What could be more fun!  I have some packing and other stuff to do, so I decided to try a recipe for a healthy sounding enchilada.  This is a good recipe for our house because it can be customized for each person.  That works well because Big Daddio doesn’t really like vegetarian dishes.  Actually, I don’t think he minds them as long as it’s not the actual dinner.

Everything I needed for the enchiladas

Everything I needed for the enchiladas

 

So I got everything called for in the recipe and  I also got a bag of Tyson’s frozen chicken strips.  They can be cooked in the microwave for 2 or 3 minutes.   I assembled everything and cooked two enchiladas – one with chicken and no avocado and the other with no chicken and avocado.  They were good, although I wouldn’t want to make them for a bunch of people.  Too much last minute prep – but they worked well for just the two of us.

The corn - it works great in lots of recipes

The corn – it works great in lots of recipes

I’m adding a picture of the frozen roasted corn and peppers that I mentioned a few days ago that I used in my corn and red potato soup.  I couldn’t remember the name of it at the time I was writing the post.  I used it again tonight in the enchiladas and thought it was a great addition.

All the ingredients needed for a festive evening

All the ingredients needed for a festive evening

It seemed like this dinner called for margaritas, so I whipped up another batch of my favorites.  I know I mentioned these a couple of weeks ago, but thought I’d show all the ingredients I used.  I think the Grand Marnier makes the difference.  And of course the Margaritaville Margarita machine!  How did we ever live without it!

Looks like I’ll have to wait until next week to work on my guest bathroom.  Big Daddio didn’t have time to help me take the door off my problem vanity, so I’ve just been cleaning out some cabinets.  I’ll have some exciting updates on all that next week.  All I can say is there could be a few trips to Home Depot in my future!

 

 

Leave a Reply

