Day 21: Great way to make hard boiled eggs!

The Egg - no divets

The Egg – no divets

As I write my blog this morning, I’m looking out the window at a very cold and blustery day.  We haven’t had much snow this winter, but it looks like we might make up for some of that today.  It’s freezing – but at least my wintery decorations will look nice.  It’s hard for them to make sense when it’s 50 degrees out!

I have a couple of things to share with you today.  The first is pretty exciting – at least to me!  You may have seen this  on Pinterest.  I know I have, but just never tried it until this morning.  It’s about making hard boiled eggs in a muffin tin in your oven.  This seems like complete genius to me.  I’ve never been a big fan of making hard boiled eggs for two reasons:

1)      The nuisance of boiling water.  Oh, I know it doesn’t sound hard, but I always make some kind of mess with the water and then you have to try to fish the darn things out of the bottom of the pan without smashing the shells or burning your fingers off.

2)     The peeling.  I’ve never been able to master this.  I can’t seem to peel them without creating divets in the egg.  Whenever I see an interesting deviled egg project, I shake my head sadly because I know I can’t make them look like they do in the picture.

Easiest way to make a hard boiled egg that I've ever found.

Easiest way to make a hard boiled egg that I’ve ever found.

Well, this morning I thought “What the heck” and put a few eggs in the oven at 325 degrees for 25 minutes.  By the time I got out of the shower, the timer was going off.  I took them out and they looked fine, but I knew the real test would be in the peeling and eating.  I have to say, I don’t know that they peeled a whole lot easier than usual but the test egg certainly looks better than my usual attempt.  And they taste great.  The yolk is cooked just right.

So, I would say this was a great success and if I didn’t get anything else out of this whole year of Pinterest besides this great way to make eggs and my super-clean shower, I would be happy.  Which I know isn’t going to happen because I’ve already found lots of other great ideas.

Over the weekend, I had a discussion with Big Daddio about my upcoming projects.   As I’ve said, he’s been surprisingly supportive of most of my crazy stuff.  However he did mention that he really doesn’t like to have projects going on all over the house.  This comment came after my suggestion for us (him) to do a little project in our entryway and also possibly reconfigure our den to mount the TV from the bedroom over our fireplace and rearrange all the furniture.   And those ideas came after I started one teensy, weensy little “facelift” project in our guest bathroom.

In the spirit of marital harmony, I think I’m going to concentrate my efforts for the next few days on the facelift in the bathroom.  He’s already a little disturbed about this because I started it without really discussing it first (see picture below).  I had some leftover paint and decided to just go ahead and get started on the vanity.  It’s really old and the hardware is terrible.  I began painting and then decided I should take the door off.  Unfortunately, the door did not come off easily.  Which was disappointing because I was really feeling impressed with myself for using a screwdriver.  So – I had to request the services of my dear husband, who is now a LITTLE IRRITATED because the doors won’t come off easily (at least it wasn’t just me!) and he’s thinking we may have to replace the vanity since I already ruined it (his words).  I guess I’ll have to keep you posted on that as we go along.

The partially completed cabinet - not sure how this is going to work out!

The partially completed cabinet – not sure how this is going to work out!

So that’s what is going on.  More on this exciting topic tomorrow.  Have a good Monday – maybe make a margarita!

Leave a Reply

