Day 19 : Cajun Bean & Ham Soup

The soup will be perfect for a Mardi Gras Party

The soup will be perfect for a Mardi Gras Party

Today’s project is actually unwittingly related into my last post.  I didn’t even think about it, but the Cajun Soup could actually be a great addition to my Mardi Gras party.  Several readers (haha, I only have several readers!)  have been kind enough to tell me that Mardi Gras is on February 12th.  Yikes, it’s coming right up, so I’d better get going on that.

The soup is from a pin I found a few days ago.  It caught my eye because we had a ham at Christmas and I put the leftovers, including the bone in the freezer.  That was after eating ham for about 4 days in a row.  I was REALLY sick of seeing that thing in the frig every time I opened it, so I had the great idea to cut it into pieces and store in small plastic bags in the freezer.  Today we pulled out the bag with the bone and another with some of the meat.

I had already bought some Luzianne Cajun Seasoning at the store the other day.  It made me laugh because I saw another post about southern cooking that was called “South your Mouth”.  I thought that was hilarious and I have to tell you that this Cajun seasoning really packs a punch.  It says you can use it just like salt and pepper on anything, so I’ll have to give that a try because I like spicy food.

All the ingredients used by  MY HUSBAND to make the soup

All the ingredients used by MY HUSBAND to make the soup

Today’s soup was actually assembled and put in the crock pot by none other than Big Daddio.  I was running around trying to get some other things done and told him I’d give him credit if he’d make it for me.  I actually think he did a better job than I would have.  I always throw everything in the food processor because I’m too lazy to chop.  John doesn’t like it cut that way, so he meticulously chopped the carrots, celery and garlic by hand.  I didn’t put in any green pepper, because it’s one of the very few things that I just can’t stand.    Funny, true story is that the first time I visited my in-laws-to-be for dinner they served Stuffed Green Peppers!  Arghh – I can’t stand the smell, taste or texture.  I don’t know how I made it thru that dinner.  Don’t worry, my mother-in-law knows all about this now so she won’t be mad that I’m putting it in my blog.  She’s actually a very good cook.

Anyway, we just got back from a baby shower and I checked on the soup.  Once again, I did my little trick of smashing up some the solids in the food processor and re-added it to the Crock Pot.  Then I removed the ham bone and the bay leaves.  I think the recipe called for two  – for some reason it looks like Big Daddio put in a bunch.  He belongs to the cooking school of “If one is good, more will be better”.  I know he also put in extra onion.

I just tried some and it is is really good.  It’s all spicy and ham-y and will make a great lunch tomorrow and it looks like we’ll have quite a few leftovers.  I really recommend giving this a try.

Package for the baby shower

Package for the baby shower

Also wanted to show the wrapping I did for my baby gift tomorrow.  I came across a pin for really pretty wrapping (tagged below) and the writer mentioned that she used a doily to make the bow.  I got to thinking that I have a bunch of doilies from my grandmother and one of them might work  for this.  Plus, I didn’t think that a world-renowned Pinterest blogger should show up at the shower with a really boring package.

Bow made with doily and other stuff

Bow made with doily and other stuff

I started looking thru my stuff and found a doily and also came across some wallpaper border that we had in our first house – the house that my daughter was born in.  Well, she was born in a hospital, but you know what I mean.  I messed around with all this and came up with what you see below.  I think it turned out pretty cute and she also can keep the doily that came from her great-grandmother.

Well, I’m off to bed.  We have another busy day tomorrow.  Hope you have a great Saturday night!

One thought on “Day 19 : Cajun Bean & Ham Soup

Leave a Reply

