Day 18: Mardi Gras Bead Craft

My first attempt at Mardi Gras "art"

My first attempt at Mardi Gras “art”

Well, you’re probably getting tired of hearing this, but it’s Friday and we’re going out to dinner tonight.  I have to be honest – I am struggling a little trying to get something “Pinteresty” done today.  I got so excited about the shower project last night that I didn’t get a head start on anything for today.  So you may be a little underwhelmed by my project, but don’t lose hope.  I have some good ideas coming up in the next few days.

This is a pretty (well, really) simple idea for using all those pesky Mardi Gras beads that you have hanging around the house and don’t know what to do with.  Actually, when I read that I thought, “How many people really have an abundance of excess Mardi Gras beads in their house?”  But oddly enough, I do!

My daughters have apparently accumulated these over a number of years of parties and I have piled them in a box in one of the bedrooms.  I couldn’t bring myself to throw them out – just in case I’m invited to a lot of Mardi Gras parties in the future.  It hasn’t happened yet, but you never know.  This could be the year!

Another attempt - I like the colors!

Another attempt – I like the colors!

Anyway, this website has lots of ideas for what to do with these beads and some of them are more elaborate than I had in mind.  You can make a chandelier, a hanging curtain or a wall hanging.  Honestly, those all sound like more work then I was looking for and I’m not really sure I want any of those things in my house.  The one thing that interested me was the idea of using them in a vase or candleholder – so that’s what I tried.  As you can see, this is a pretty simple project and I think that someone a little more artsy than me could do a better job, but I think it turned out cute and I’ll use it in my daughter’s room until I get really ambitious and re-decorate the whole thing.  Which I should do, because it still has butterfly décor and there’s no one younger than 20 in our house!

So that’s my project.  As I said, it’s not great but it has inspired me to think about having a Mardi Gras party this year.  Does anyone know when Mardi Gras is?

Have a great Friday.  I’ll be back tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Day 18: Mardi Gras Bead Craft

Leave a Reply

