Day 17: Clean shower doors

You'll have to take my word for it, but my shower is REALLY clean!

You’ll have to take my word for it, but my shower is REALLY clean!

Today I am doing something a little different.  I have some relatives coming this weekend and I was thinking that instead of doing Pinterest stuff I really should be cleaning my shower.  When I say “clean my shower” I mean it needed a TOTAL serious cleaning.  I started to think  – “hey, I wonder if there’s anything on Pinterest about cleaning nasty old shower doors”.

Well, you guessed it – there was.  I found a website called “Home Repair Tutor” with a whole section about cleaning shower doors. I was actually a little nervous searching things like “removing soap scum” and “how to get rid of mold”.  Like people would be looking over my shoulder, saying “Oh, yuck she’s so gross and her shower is FILTHY”.  But I did it anyway and found just what I was looking for.

I wrote down all the necessary items, headed to the store and came home armed with a lot of stuff.  See below:

Everything I needed for a really clean shower

Everything I needed for a really clean shower

I followed the directions on the website and mixed up a paste of the vinegar and baking soda.  I spread it all over the shower doors and prepared to wait.  That part of the directions made me laugh.  It was written by a man and he suggests that during the 20 minutes you need to wait for the doors to soak or whatever you should go watch TV!  Haha – that’s just like something my husband would think of!  I, on the other hand, am thinking “Are you kidding?  Watch TV?  I have 800 things to do before the relatives come”.  So naturally  I used that time to scrub the inside of the shower.

This is where the story gets interesting.  I have to say that I had pretty much given up on that shower.  It’s old and probably should just be torn out.  I’ve never been able to get it very clean and I’ve tried a lot of different harsh products that practically made me pass out.  This time I used Scrubbing Bubbles and a Mr. Clean Eraser Magic Eraser.  I was amazed to see that it was actually cleaning – even the bottom that I could never get clean before.  I kept at it and eventually was really happy with the results.  I also used a thing called a “Brake Dust Brush”.  I thought I was buying a window brush as described in the directions, but I didn’t have my glasses on and this is what I ended up with.  It works really well – it has brushes and scrubbers on all four sides and really works well on all the curved surfaces in the shower.

I have to say that I think the results of the door cleaning was not as exciting as the inside.  Maybe my doors are just too old, but I actually ended up going back over the doors with the Scrubbing Bubbles.

I like how this part of the bathroom turned out!

I like how this part of the bathroom turned out!

This last picture is of a part of the bathroom that I decorated a couple of years ago.  I just like how it turned out and thought I’d throw a picture in since it’s close to the shower and I can’t really get a good picture of the cleaning that I did.

The moral of the story is that sometimes you have an unexpected victory when you’re doing these Pinterest projects.  I hope this helps someone else who has a grubby shower.  I know I can’t wait to get up and in the shower tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

