Day 16: TGI Candy Cane Beverage

A pretty good drink.  Not as pretty as the picture - but hey, this isn't TGI Friday!

A pretty good drink. Not as pretty as the picture – but hey, this isn’t TGI Friday!

Once again I find myself in the position of getting home late and not having time to do anything very elaborate.  I have bell choir practice (go ahead and laugh) and then my book group is meeting.  I bring this up because I wanted to mention the book we read and this great group of ladies.  We have been meeting every month for several years and have read well over 100 books.  This month we read The Art of Hearing Heartbeats by Jan-Philipp Sendker, which was a very interesting book about a woman’s search & journey for her missing father.  If you’re a reader you might enjoy checking it out.  Let me know what you think if you do read it.  Our group decided we liked it quite a lot.

So here I am at 9:30 at night, still working on my blog.  Which is not a problem, because I picked a very fun project – a TGI Friday Candy Cane Beverage.  I’ve tagged the recipe below.

Earlier in the day, I was sitting around worrying about what I was going to do tonight.  I knew I would be tired and not want to do much except lay on the couch, watch American Idol and possibly have a drink.  Ah-ha, I thought.  A drink – way to make this Pinterest thing work for you, Linda!

So I looked around for a pin with an interesting beverage and found this one.  It’s kind of an odd choice for two reasons:

1)      It’s clearly a Christmas drink and it’s clearly not Christmas anymore.  But I don’t think there’s any rule that says you can’t drink a fun Christmas drink in January.  At least I hope there’s not, because I will be in violation.

2)     This doesn’t exactly meet the requirements of my diet.  In fact, it breaks two of my diet rules:  Don’t drink my calories and If you’re going to cheat, make sure you have both sugar AND flour.

But I’m considering today to be a special occasion because it’s my dad’s 81st birthday.  So Happy Birthday Dad!

Perhaps the best part about this project was that I had to stop at the store to buy the Peppermint Schnapps and a few other things.  The kid at the checkout asked me for my ID!  Ha – I must have stared at him open-mouthed for about 2 minutes.  Finally I shook myself out of the state of shock and gave  it to him.    I assume it was just a pity ID -ing, but hey, I’ll take it!

Ingredients - including the Schnapps that got me ID'd

Ingredients – including the Schnapps that got me ID’d

I mixed everything up in my food processor because I was too lazy to drag out the blender or the Margarita machine.  I have to admit that it didn’t turn out as pretty as the picture on the post, but it tasted good.  My husband looked like he couldn’t believe his good fortune when I handed him his glass.  And now we’re sitting here watching American Idol and drinking this fun drink.  Just like I imagined!

Really not much else to report.  I’m going to attempt to get something done around my outside front door tomorrow, so be sure to check back.

Leave a Reply

