Day 13 – Refurbished closet doors

The finished closet doors - such a big improvement

The finished closet doors – such a big improvement

Good Evening!  This is going to have to be a quick post.  I’ve got to leave in a few minutes to go out for the evening, but wanted to get this done before I leave.

We’ve been working on this project all week.  It was inspired by the pin that I’ve linked below on redoing sliding closet doors.  I’ve always wanted to do something about the ugly brown doors in my daughter’s room.  When I saw the pin about painting and refurbishing doors, I decided to give it a try.  We decided they couldn’t be any worse and if it was a disaster we would just throw them away and pay for new ones.

The original doors = ugly

The original doors = ugly

It was a fairly simple, if time-consuming process.  I painted each door (two coats) and then added a strip of my famous cheapo contact paper.  We hung the doors and sat back to admire our work.  At that point we both decided that they looked too plain, so John drilled and added the little knobs that I bought at Pier 1 and was thinking about for the bathroom  (next project!).  They looked great, but I still thought it needed something else, so I added some sticky craft tape I found at Meijer as a border around the contact paper.  That was really the finishing touch that they needed.

The completed door project - well worth the work.

The completed door project – well worth the work.

I’m really happy with the finished result and would recommend if you have any ugly closet doors hanging around your house.

I’ve gotta run, but I’ll be back tomorrow!

One thought on “Day 13 – Refurbished closet doors

Leave a Reply

