Day 12: Birthday gift – Roasted Corn and Red-Skinned Potato Chowder

Gifts for my parents  - Inspired by a great idea for new moms

Gifts for my parents – Inspired by a great idea for new moms

Inspiration for todays projects:

http://www.dwellonjoy.com/2012/02/roasted-corn-potato-chowder.html

http://www.dwellonjoy.com/2012/02/feeding-new-moms.html

Hello – I’m a little late posting my blog today because I’ve been at my parent’s house celebrating my parent’s birthday.  Last week my mom turned 80 and next is my dad’s 81st birthday.  We went to their house and picked up some Chinese food for dinner.  I also picked up a cake so we had a nice little party.  My brother David, his wife Lisa , my nephew Chris and my other brother Peter were also there.  I specifically mention them because they were complaining that they had never been mentioned in my blog!   I told them I’d try to work them in, so here they are.

Anyway, in thinking about what I wanted to get them I remembered a pin I saw for making a meal for a new mom.  I’ve attached the link above.  The idea was to do a “tower” with a complete dinner.  It included a recipe for Roasted Corn and Red Skin Potato Chowder and I’ve been thinking about doing it for some people who have babies coming soon.  But I got to thinking it would be a great idea for my parents who have a little more trouble getting out and about in the winter.

It’s a simple concept.  I bought some disposable containers from, you guessed it, the Dollar Store.  I put some good rye bread in the bottom container.  In the next one, I put the soup, then I put two smaller containers filled with fruit – I used strawberries, grapes, blackberries and raspberries.  On the top, I put some of my Lemon Almond Mini Muffins that I had in the freezer from last week.  I stacked everything up and tied it all with a pretty ribbon.  I thought it looked nice and it will make a nice meal for them in the next couple of days.

Soup that was a part of the "dinner" gift for my parents

Soup that was a part of the “dinner” gift for my parents

A word on the soup  – it made a big batch and I gave half to my folks and kept half for us to have for dinner tomorrow.  I tasted a little when it was done and it was GOOD.  I know I was always say that and I’m definitely not the pickiest eater in the world, but it really was good.  The recipe calls for frozen roasted corn which I had a little trouble finding.  I finally found a bag of roasted corn with peppers – I think it worked great in this recipe, but I can’t remember exactly what it was called.  I’ll try to dig it out of the trash when I get home and put it in tomorrow.

Anyway, I will definitely use this ideas for meals in the future.  It’s a great idea for a new mom, shut in or a get well gift.  I’ve got to get back to the party, but I’ve got my final project from Brooke’s room to post tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 12: Birthday gift – Roasted Corn and Red-Skinned Potato Chowder

Leave a Reply

