Day 9: Cake Stand Perfume

Cake stand used as a perfume holder (and decoration)

Cake stand used as a perfume holder (and decoration)

Today’s projects are more simple ideas inspired by a pin I saw about using a cake stand as a perfume organizer.  It also makes a cute decoration.  The Pinterest item really doesn’t need any explanation.  You just need a cake stand that you have sitting around your house.  If you don’t have one I guess you could buy one – but I’d suggest looking around to see what you’ve got.  It wouldn’t have to be a cake stand, maybe just a tray or plate. I personally found three cake stands and I haven’t made a cake in two years!

This makes a great place to store all the pretty bottles of perfume that you have sitting around and hate to just throw away.  You could even fill up some empty bottles with water and maybe a little food coloring.  I love the look and I added a few other items to the dresser to make it look really romantic and pretty.  I always look at my Pottery Barn catalog when I’m doing one of these arrangements to get ideas.

Couture print copied on to card stock

Couture print copied on to card stock

I knew I needed something to hang above the dresser.  I remembered a crazy idea I had a couple of years ago (I know, it’s hard to believe!).  I was looking at Gilt and saw some really beautiful Coco Chanel hand drawn prints that they were selling for about $700 each.  I loved how they looked but knew I would never be able to afford them without pulling my kids out of college.  However, as I was looking at the website I realized that I could just copy and paste the actual graphic!  So I printed a bunch of them on cardstock and set them aside to use “someday”.

The whole area - finally it doesn't look empty

The whole area – finally it doesn’t look empty

This week I bought four frames from TJ and cut the pictures to fit.  No mat needed because the print already had a border around the edges.  My long-suffering husband helped me hang them artfully above the dresser and I’m really thrilled.  My only thought is that I’d like to have bigger frames, so I’m going to keep my eyes open for four bigger, more elaborate frames.  I think that would take this from GOOD to GREAT!

Well, that’s all for today.  I’m getting close to being finished with this room.  I should have the final project done on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

